Uspallata - Seven Years in Tibet in Half a Day


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Uspallata
May 6th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Uspallarta is both the name of a small village and a remote pass between Mendoza and Santiago Chile. Travelling between Santiago and Mendoza was a joy, beautiful craggy mountains, twisting roads that double back on them selves over and over, looping up the mountain.

After arriving in Mendoza - I headed back to the village - spent an afternoon on horseback, taking photos when I could convince the beast to steady enough.

Uspallata and the surrounding mountains were considered enough of a double for the Tibetan Himalayas to film Seven Years in Tibet (1997) - in some of the bars there are shots of a very blond bearded Brad Pitt. Hence the slightly lame title of this blog entry.

I didn't stay much time in Uspallarta - it deserves more time, lots of activities, not much infrastructure, and one of the major transit points across the Andes...

Thanks to Jason, Jess and Colm for posing in the album cover photo 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Self PortraitsSelf Portraits
Self Portraits

Jason, Colm, Jess


22nd May 2008

very nice pictures and wonderful landscape! greetings from barbara to you and to the Andes!
27th May 2008

Envy
Ali, I drop in on your blog every once and a while. Makes an old man envious . . . if I were 30 years younger perhaps our paths would cross. Love the pics and commentary. Keep safe.
20th June 2008

Thanks Ali
I'm glad that u like my pictures! yeah...since then I'm a little bit obsessed with this amazing underwater sport! If you are in Bolivia now don't forget to go to Tupiza on a horseback riding trip!At least for 2 days! The landscape is fantastic :) I adore south america - maybe we will meet someday...somewhere :) by the way - your pictures are amazing as well :) take care, Jana from Slovenia
30th May 2009

I've done the Santiago - Mendoza journey (or the other way around) three times and remember Uspallata. I was VERY surprised to see a blog about it though and even more so to hear it's where they filmed 7 years in Tibet - bizarre!
3rd June 2010

beautiful picture
I like ur nature pictures

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb