Expedition Aconcagua 2006


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
January 20th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nido de condores 5400 meterNido de condores 5400 meterNido de condores 5400 meter

After climbing a couple times this strenuous climb (as you can see hahahah) I finaly slept here on my 9th day. to get water for cooking I had to melt snow.
The 5th of january I landed in Santiago the Chili. I took a direct bus to Mendoza, where I runned around to find all the climbing gear that I needed to get up Aconcagua.
....A trip with a company was to expensive, so after I talked with some guides and other mountaineers, I decided that I could go there without a guide as well.
In my hostel in Mendoza I met up with two Hungarians (Robert and Yury). Robert had been on the mountain before and so we started a 3 mens expedition. The 7th we took the bus to the starting point at Puenta del Inca where we stayed for the night at 2700 meters.
There we had to arrange mules service to the base camp for all our food (for approx. 16 days)
Each of us send 20 kilos with the mules, so there were just ourselves and our backpacks (still 25-30 kilos) left to take up the mountain. We made it the second day to Confluencia at 3300 meters. we stayed there 2 days to aclimatise and to prepare for the long hike to Base Camp (plaza de Mulas.) On that day Yury got again altitude sickness so
3 men expedition3 men expedition3 men expedition

Two other guys Robert and Yury from Hungary at our start of the climb to Aconcagua
they had to stay somewhere in between for 2 days.
Later I met up with them in Base Camp, but since the weather was great I decided to move up slowely anyways. The 17th I slept in Camp Berlin at the altitude of 5900 meters!!! not realy good sleeping there but besides the sleeping problems the altitude didn´t affect me that much.
The 18th I woke up at 6, it was a beautiful day, clear blue sky no wind, but extremely cold! At 7'o clock I set pace to climb slowely up and the first 2 hours went great. After that It became so hard to breath and thus to walk up. At 11.30 I came to the canaleta, a steep part before the summit. 3 steps a time and then recover...I never done anything this hard. Its the body that don´t want to go up but the mind that takes over control anyways...
Around 13.30 I reached the summit at 6962 meters!!!!, the great feeling came afterwards, at the moment, I was just exhausted...wanted to eat drink and sleep...not to great idea at such conditions.
By the time I was up there the weather had changed to clouds, and
Sitting in front of the south side Sitting in front of the south side Sitting in front of the south side

The 3rd day we made a hike to plaza the francia where we got a great view of the south face...just impressive
snow...and the way back was cold....
The next day back to base camp and from there a long hike back to Puenta del Inca
Now I finaly had a good night sleep in Mendoza and it´s time to celebrate now!!!

Hasta luego




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Base Camp, plaza de mulasBase Camp, plaza de mulas
Base Camp, plaza de mulas

Here I stayed 4 nights to aclimatize at the altitude of 4300 meters. From here I had to port stuff to the higher camps to provide for the food and clothes that I needed up higer
Camp Nido de condores 5400 meterCamp Nido de condores 5400 meter
Camp Nido de condores 5400 meter

After climbing a couple times to nido I finaly slept there on my 9th day ofcourse as you can see it was not an easy climb to get there.hahaha
The Summit 6962 meter...I was thereThe Summit 6962 meter...I was there
The Summit 6962 meter...I was there

It was though to get there but...sooo worth it...just great no words to describe...so I,m not gonna try....
last view of Aconcagualast view of Aconcagua
last view of Aconcagua

A great mountain, a great trip. I don´t know what draws me to the mountains...but they just do, and I'm glad for that..... but even for a mountain lover...after a while It's nice to get to the civilised world again...go back to mendoza now....
Taking a restTaking a rest
Taking a rest

on my way up from base camp


20th January 2006

Zeer onder de indruk
en alles op eigen kracht! Alle respect!
25th January 2006

Congrats to mastering Aconcagua! Knew you were crazy enough to make it =) Don't know if you got as suprised as we did when we looked at the pictures from la Fortuna. Well, what can you say, it's a small world after all... Have fun at at the rest of your trip!!!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb