Satelite fun


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Malargüe
July 18th 2011
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well its been a while since I wrote on the blog and I figure I should catch up and record what has been happening. I'm still sick and went to the doctor for the 4th time today. I have a 3rd round of antibiotics and pain killers, and I got a shot today so my throat would stop swelling shut. I dont know what it is, but I am very worried and frustrated that we cant find a cause.

Also I was on bedrest for 3 days earlier in the week, and I didnt write much because I didnt have much to report other than staring out the apartment windows hoping to be better. Now I keep focusing on getting well but there seem to be a lot of things wrong and unknown with the health.

In the mean time, the past weekend was momentus. We had dinner with 2 families and we stayed in a hotel for 3 days. Sarah and I stayed in a hotel and then I crashed last night at one of Susana's student's house while things were being figured out. They were very nice places and I am so thankful for the student for offering a bed in a spare room for the night.

Also we went and ate at 2 of the student's and sampled the great Argentine food. We had empanadas for dinner on Friday night and on Saturday we had a traditional Argentine BBQ, empanadas, and flan. It was really tasty food and very nice of them to invite us to meet them and share their culture. I love their type of BBQ and I hope to replicate it in the USA.

The highlight of the week was going to visit some people we had met on Friday night. What was so special about the trip was that we went and got to go inside of an antenna/ satelite that the European Space Agency was constructing. It was so amazing to climb up to the top and take pictures of the mountains and see the view on the inside.

Also there is some sad news. Malargue got its snow and I am stuck in perpetual winter through Michigan Tech (jk). There was probably 3 to 4 inches of snow that is on the ground and on buildings and the trees. It was interesting how people were reacting to it and how for me it is no longer a big deal and more an every day occurance. That's the end for now...will keep you posted

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb