Finally a trip


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
February 17th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well A trip finally materailized for last Saturday, I went hiking and it was good to get out of the city. I went with the same person from the school who has tryed to organize several other trips that he cancelled but this one finally happened. I arrived at the school at 8:30 am and there were three other students in the car. Two were from the other big language school here and one was from my school. The two women were from Belgium and spoke French. The guy was England. The guy and one of the girls were living in the same residental house here in Cordoda. They were exhaused and we had not even begun the trip. But this trip for them was only a continuation of the night before. They arrived home from the bars at 7:00 in the morning. So they only got a total of one hour sleep. After speaking to them it turned out the night before that one was not much different. The guy who was about 6.2 reaked of alcohol. I was wondering if they could do this. However, much to my surprize both him and the women were more than able to hike. And in truth perhaps in fact it helped to slow them down to my pace. Which was not such a bad thing.

The trip involved hiking three different trails to various waterfalls and swimming once we arrived. The day was so hot the water regardless of the cold was a welcome change.

The surroundings were much like the Dalles in Oregon. It was very pretty and a bit more green given the streams. There were parrot nests and green parrots, so the bird life was a bit different then home. Being that it is Cow country there was no shortage of them either. The park was a resouvior for drinking water here in Cordoba, however, being the environmental person I am I had some serious concerns about drinking water and cows. Not a good mixuture. The guide said the water was ok to drink upstream however; a bit too many cows and the things that go along with them. We did three hikes and stopped. One of the places the stop was little longer because there are rules that a BQQ is part of trip. And it was amazing as they all seem to be. I was asking the guide about the difference between the ours and theirs in truth I think it is the beef. It was a really nice day out. The hiking was nice and so was the swimming and english guy and Adrain the guide talked about Soccer. and it turned out that Adrain is a retired Player and played professionally. He retired at 27. He is all of 34 and is on his second career. He talked about the experience. He said he loved walking on the field and hearing thousands of people cheering for you. He palyed for a big club in BA. The day was a good one and I return home tired.

The next day I got an invite to Lorenzos house again. It seems like there is a summer routine that I have become part of I don{t mind it is actually fun there and this time there were some new guests some people that he goes to school with. There was a girl and a guy they were about twenty one and very much fun to talk to. Most of time my conversation has been limited however, We seemed to be doing reasonablely well. The one guy knew some english as well that helped when I got stuck. The other classes are helping me as well. It was great day for the pool too. It has ben so hot here. I hope it will break I have been trying to send some heat north. With a little luck. Teto made the same dish he makes every weekend and Baba got some beef to BQQ later in the evening. Lorenzo{s parents returned home and I was able to have an interesting conversation with her she is an architect so I spoke a bit about you dad, and the differences of working in the states in that field. There is also a hot political environmental topic about a paper plant in Uguaragy. all of which I could add to the conversation for a change.

As for school it has been interesting. I am taking one on one classes now, it is better but I made a decision to take a break from it for a while. and this will be my last week. This weekend I have plans to go to Izawu again. I am traveling on a bus 22 hours one way and 22 hours return but I think it will be fun. Maybe?. I will be going with some other women from school and we will be meeting someone who is working at the falls. They are having a carnival there only on as smaller scale then the one in Rio. Should be fun. I will continue my classes in Mendenzo in April at the end of the trip. That is if the school can figure out how to make it happen. Well I am off having some planning to do for the rest of time to do some traveling. All the best Rebecca





Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb