General things


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
February 16th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I guess as thing become more nornal here I am able to make some observations on things that the average tourist may miss. Since I was thinking about purchasing property here I sort felt I needed to get a bit of a handle on the ecomony in general and the feeling of the average person here.

The first thing that comes to mind it is the banking crisis that happened several years ago. It is strange because we, (Those of us from outside the country) have no idea of the prospective on day to day life. I assume it was something like the US stock market crash in the 1920{s. People don{t see this as something that happened a some time ago and as a result they tend to act accordingly.

Imagine putting your lifes saving to a bank and waking up one morning and it is half gone. It was not the result of any action that you did personnally it was just gone. The goverment then tells you, you can only withdraw less then $100.00 per week. Add to that your currency becomes worth a third of what it originally was. Over time, you add to that, If the banks fail, so do many of the bussineses, and so does your job. At the begining of the crisis the umemployment rate was at 26%, now there is more employment however, the salaries now reflect the new rate of the money. The inflation rate is high here. But for me it is still a deal. So imagine that you have a job and you are working and trying to save money. Because of the crisis no one puts the money in the bank, Who would trust them? So it is the put the money under the bed or in some cases people put it in safety deposit boxes. So with all this uninsured cash around and unemployement. There has been an increase in robberies. Mostly in homes, because people know others are not putting their money in banks. There has also been recent bank robberies where they just steal from the safety desposit boxes. Now if no one is putting money in the banks how can the banks loan money, if they have no money in them. I have heard that the employers still do pay by check however they disposit the cash a few hours prior to writing the checks and hope that there is not some sort of new banking crisis lumming into the very near future. It is more confusing then this simplistic explanation. However, this is how it actually functions.

So with this prospective, One must pay cash for every thing. The average person feels as if there is no way they will ever own a home if they did not have one before. The rich people in the country sort of changed over night as well. The ecomony seems to be somewhat based on trading commodities. The rich are those people who own land and farms and own cattle, soybeans, and other agricultural products. According to one person the banks are now trying to tap into the trading of commiodities instead of money. Those people who have money one longer, tend to hold on to it. They buy property, cars, and genral stuff with it. The average person feels a bit helpless, and Wonders about the future. Only a few become richer, and they take most their money outside of the country.

With respect to me buying property I need to think about this Because When I deside I want to sell it who will buy it and What will the value be? There is also all of the other considerations such as the care up keep ect. Lots to consider. But I will give it all some more thought.

As for life this last week it has been interesting. I wish the classes were going better. I have taken two classes at the other school I think I am making more progress there and will continue with it. The school that is paid for is somewhat of a joke. I am sure it serves a purpose for some people but It is not working out for me. Well the housing situation did. But the school put me in a class this week with one other person. She was from Isereal and was a very nice older women. But she Spoke no spanish. It was a long week of listening to her speak in english. It was not her fault. It is was the schools we were not evenly matched. This next week I will start one on one classes again. For only two hours but I will pay for additional lessons at the other school. The other school is only charging $6.00 per hour verses the $20 per hour my other school charges. I told them I was not going to spend any more money for something that has produced so few results. The school is really a big money maker for someone but very little money goes to the people who are really doing the work, Like the teachers or the home stays.

Last night I went to Lorenzos house for a party of sorts. We had and special Argentine Treat, However in reality. I did not care for it. It was like a corn soup. Sort of like cream of corn. The argentines Don{t like to use spices much, they don{t like hot foods and Typically don{t like Mexican food. This corn soup was really bland. The desert was good however, Lorenzo made it with the pears that are in season. It was pears cook in burgandy wine. It was served with fresh whipped cream and chocolate sauce. After that we had champagne, coffee and more little cakes. Lorenzos sister had a bunch of friends over and they got all dress up to head out for a night of dancing they headed out at 1:00am. Us older folks which there were about ten of us. We did not leave until 2:00am and got home at 2:30. An early night by Argentine standards. I am not too sure I could do that, i have troubles with 2AM. when we driving home the streets were hopping and it was thursday night.

As for this weekend I plan on dancing classes tonight at ten then heading home. There is actually a hiking swiming trip a We{ll see if it actually goes.

Well that is all Hope you did not mind my strange account of the argentine ecomony however, It does play into my decision to buy some place here, since some of you have been asking. Well All the best. Sounds like I may need to send some warmth your way on both coasts. I {ll see what I can do. Rebecca




Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb