Playing with Seals


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
February 9th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Beach in Puerto MadrynThe Beach in Puerto MadrynThe Beach in Puerto Madryn

Well not quite Aussie Beach quality but it was nice to see the sea!
Hola Amigos,
I promised photos but you will have to wait still haven´t got it together to download them. I had a fantastic last night and day in Buenos Aires, went out and met cool people, Buenos Aires is really happening at night. Met some Argentinian boys who helped me find my friends from the hostel and then met an ex Morman who gave me some leads to do some woofing up in Ecuador - then on the last day I was in the city the streets came alive with artists, pupeteers and great musicians. I saw an Eight year old boy playing guitar that defied belief, his tiny fingers moved like rain across the frets. Other guitarists had me in tears, such good music, I couldn´t move from the street. And a great pupeteer dressed in pinstripes and red bow tie like his puppet who sang a mournful love song as he fell about the tiny stage - so funny.
I had to leave because my bus was due so I tore myself away to Puerto Madryn. Saw most of Rocky Balboa on the bus but fell asleep before the fight scene - damn. Puerto Madryn. The day i got there i decided to bike ride to Punta Loma to see some sea lions, 17kms each way, but the book said it was an easy ride......it was not an easy ride. On the way back I thought I was going to collapse, and frequently i was right. I took many breaks including a nice one on a pebbly beach in front of a wreck. Some Argentinians riding bikes back were also struggling and we egged each other on, passing each other shouting VAMOS!!!!
The next day I went on a tour to the Peninsula famous for Orcas - Killer Whales beaching themselves to get at seal pups. I walked like a cowboy for most of the day thanks to my epic bikeride!! We saw penguins, sea elephants and sea lions and, in the distance but still exciting, an ORCA!!!! It circled around but didn´t lurch up to eat the seals.
A guy at the hostel reccommended diving with seals, so I had to do it and it was worth the blow in the budget, the seals were so playful, they come right up close and bite your flippers and legs, a couple even started biting at my head. The were so beautiful gliding golden through their sparkling world. I was smiling so much my regulator almost fell out...
One of the diving instructors caught the bus south with me for a while which was fun, practising my spanish as we drove through the flat vast shrubbyness that is almost all the Argentinan landscape.
I am now in Rio Gallegos and heading south or west we´ll see. Won´t stay here it is bleak and dead.
Hope you are all groovy and happy and free.
D


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Seal lionSeal lion
Seal lion

This is the same colony that i later dived with - so beautiful


1st March 2007

bike ride
Love the shot of the seal on the sand spreadealged how you felt after the ride - laughed very much!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb