Dogs, leather, and buses


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
September 9th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Avenida 9 de julioAvenida 9 de julioAvenida 9 de julio

This is one of the largest avenues in the world...
Dogs, leather, and buses

Many people, especially Argentineans, have warned me about the insidious and manipulative nature of certain individuals. I agree that you have to be “street-smart” in order to be safe in such as a big city; however, I have to say that I find Argentineans to be extremely welcoming, helpful, warm, proud and generous. I will add that you cannot get mad at an Argentinean man to address you by “Cariño”, “Mi amor” or “Nena”. In all honesty, this has been the most important cultural shock since my arrival in the city!

I was very surprised to see how many dogs (and how many of their by-products) were on the streets of the city! It reminds me of Paris where you have to watch where will be your next step! Watching the numerous dog walkers in the morning always put a smile on my face; a same person will have about 6 to 12 (and more!) dogs on leash at the same time!

Another feature of Argentine is the omnipresence of leather…I guess with all the steaks they eat, they end up with a lot of skin! Beware shoe fanatics, the city is blessed with
CongresoCongresoCongreso

A view of the Congress
a multitude of stores selling shoes, purses, jackets and any other items made of beautiful leather! I know many women (and men) who will lose it down here! Do not forget, everything can be bargained and paying cash will always get you a better price.

Taking the bus in Buenos Aires for the first time is quite an adventure; my heart stopped every minute as I thought we will a pedestrian or ran into a car. A green light does not mean anything; you always need to be alert as a pedestrian. Another feature of the bus system is the coin machine used to pay your ticket which costs usually 80 centavos (which is about 30 cents). Besides, when I asked one of the passengers where I could get a schedule, she smiled and said: “God decides honey!”. Despite the multitude of bus companies in Buenos Aires, there is not one that follows a fixed schedule…I am starting to understand why you cannot always arrive at work on time…

After my first two weeks in Buenos Aires, if you would ask me to describe the city in six words, there would be: food, chaos, warmth, café, leather, and prid



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The first metro in South AmericaThe first metro in South America
The first metro in South America

Riding this metro is an adventure by itself...you manually open the doors...and you sit still...


11th September 2006

Oh the two of you must really be enjoying yourselves , we love reading about your adventure love Birte and Ove
11th September 2006

Shoes!!!
I can hardly wait!!!! Annette

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb