One week in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 18th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Completed my first week at school and it´s all gone pretty well. I´m not exactly fluent yet but, I am starting to understand a lot more of what people are saying to me. Did a walking tour of the city on Thursday, it´s a beautiful place. But, more importantly, the guide offered to take me to see Boca juniors (Argentina´s biggest football club) play on Sunday. Waiting for a mail at the mo to confirm the arrangements- I hope it comes off.

I had my first real night out last night and am paying for it today. Everything starts so late here, it´s difficult to get used to. I finished my dinner in a restaurent at 11 and got to the bar I was heading for around 12, it was empty!! People started arriving between 2 and 3 then went on to clubs etc between 4 and 5! I wonder what the licensing law makers would make of that at home? Had a good night though. The owner of the bar was an Argentino that spoke with an Irish accent cos he´d worked with an Irish guy in London for 6 years. I got talking to two of his friends, both from Jersey and now living in BA, and it turns out they wrote half of the "Time Out" guide book I´m using. Good guys. Along with the owner, they made me feel very welcome although, I did have to decline the offer to play 5-a-side football with them. I don´t think the back would handle it too well and besides, it´s too bleedin´hot to play football here (and I´d make a prat of myself)!!

Finished the night around 5 with my first cab ride home- always an adventure wherever you go.

Hasta luego mis amigos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb