Do they need that many lanes?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

5/30 - We left Santiago and flew to Buenos Aires. We were able to get an earlier flight so we landed around 10:00 pm local time. We landed it was rainy and cool and our driver brought us straight to our hotel. Our hotel was downtown directly on the widest boulevard in the world which I believe was 7 lanes wide each way. The crossing signals needed to be longer unless you are an trained sprinter (which as you can see, I am not).

5/31 - We had the entire day on our own without any planned activities. I used this prime oppurtunity to sleep in! After a quick breakfast at the hotel, we went exploring. We found a mall that was in a tourist area. The girls went shopping and I walked around the town a little bit. I hit the pool/sauna/hot tub in the afternoon. That evening, Patty and Stu flew in from Peru and joined us. The six of us found an authenic Argentian steak house and had nice big thick steaks. Personally I like my steak rare, but that seemed to get lost in translation. My steak was medium-well which is a little over-done for me but still pretty good.

6/1 - We got picked up by our van and started our private city tour at 9:30. We drove around the city and saw the parks and some of the buildings from the van. We got out and explored some famous cemetary where Eva Peron was buried. We then went to an old part of town called Boca where we walked around and got harrassed by vendors. The tour was short and wasn't very good so we had a lot to explore on our own. That evening we bought tickets for a Tango Show. It was one of those dinners and a show together. The food and wine were OK, but the show was good. It had authenic tango dancers with a live band and some local folklore music. After the show we went home and went to bed.

6/2 - We got up and boarded a ferry for Uraguay. I didn't know much about the country of Uraguay and honestly after leaving I knew as much going in as I did leaving. We went to this old town called Colonia. The food was awful, but the town was pretty. Patty, Stu and I rented a golf cart and drove all around the city. The girls waked around and went shopping. We spent all day in Colonia and then took the 8:00 ferry back to Buenos Aires. We went to a nice steak house for dinner which was amazing. They cooked my steak medium-well and Megan's steak medium-rare, so we switched which worked out for both of us.

6/3 - We spent Wednesday walking around and exploring the city of the parts we didn't see. The city overall is very big and very pretty but needs some work in some of the areas. If they could spend a little money on infrastructure and saftey then the city would be awesome. We left for the airport around 5:00 pm local time and flew back to the states on an overnight flight. I must say Continental airlines is terrible compared to LAN airlines and I really wished LAN would fly in the states.

My impressions of Buenos Aires. Good stuff: You can drink the water, flush the toilet paper (yeah!), and it is a very pretty city. It is easy to get around since I didn't know Spanish. Bad stuff: Crime was high (none of us got anything stolen, although someone tried to get in my backpack on a crowded street), they won't prepare a steak rare, and traffic was a little rough. I would like to go back to Argentina and explore other parts of the country some day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb