Primavera (Spring)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
October 7th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well spring has officially been underway here for a few weeks now and I am beginning to love the city and culture a little more each day. The weather right now is currently very nice, not too hot and not too cold. However, when it rains......it RAINS! All day long and there is no escaping it because I have to go outside to get things accomplished.

The beginning of the month I moved into a new place in an area of the city called Barrio Norte. It is a very nice barrio (neighborhood) with everything I need very close. I am renting a room from a women who is in her 40s or 50s but one of the nicest people I have ever met. She dances tango, and has two daughters whom I met today. One used to live in Troy, MI for a year which is basically 5 minutes from Bloomfield Hills....small world. She also has the cutest 2 y/o granddaugther and a grandson that is 25 days old. This is much better change than the weird, smelly 30 y/o "student" I was living with who watched TV all day long.

My Spanish is improving day by day also and I think within a 3 to 4 more months I will be able to speak much better than I currently do. It is a slow and tedious process though and it is exhausting just to speak in spanish so much because it is an active rather than a passive process currently. Cetain situations are becoming more natural though which is good.

Things are also starting to get going with my work. I am currently helping Sagrada Familia seek out and hire a warehouse/inventory manager for one of their projects and will be helping to create a 2008 financial plan. I have Target to thank for my skillfulness in this area 😉. I am also working with on a project with San Antonio de los Cobres which is an indigenous population in the Andes Mountains. I will be traveling there next week (for probably the only time) and am excited to see a different part of the county.

Otherwise, I have been picking up some more English teaching classes which I am starting to enjoy more and more as I get to know the students. I am teaching about 15 hours/week and working with the volunteer organizations the remaining time.

However, life has not been without its challenges! Yesterday my camera (which is just bought!) was stolen at a bar. I am trying not to get mad though because pretty much everyone I have met here has had one thing or another stolen...phone, ipod, etc. At least it wasn't my wallet, which would have been more of a hastle. However, unfortunately that means no more photos for the time being until I can price out what cameras cost here and if I can afford a new one.

I think this is it for now.....

Kisses!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb