Buenos Aires and Bariloche


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its winter here in Argentina and it was very welcome. Buenos Aires is a beautiful place and it could pass for any European city. It does have a bad reputation for crime but I must admit I never saw it and I felt far safer here than in Mexico. Saying that half of the hostel that went to a Boca football match got mugged so the moral of the story is not to go and watch the football. Buenos Aires comes alive at night with its tango dancing and parties. I took a tango lesson which was interesting and it was one of the sexiest things I have ever done. The girls here are of course not ugly and you have to think of Maggy Thatcher if you are to continue dancing after they have wrapped their legs around you.

I was going to do a homestay to improve my Spanish but I heard there was fresh´powder in Bariloche. So of course snowboarding became the priority and I am now down here living with a Burton rider from Germany. So times are hard. However I sent my gear back home after Canada and I'm struggling with the rental gear. I'm only doing the odd day here and there as its quite expensive and the hill is of course nothing like North America or Europe. There are some great backcountry opportunities though so I´m really enjoying it.

Bariloche town has a beautiful setting in amongst the Andies. It is set next to a big lake with the mountains surrounding it in all directions. It has a great vibe too and I'm getting spoilt with the great steaks and great wine. Its so cheap compared to home and the quality is out of this world. Vegetarians dont bother visiting Argentina.

The plan now is to go North to Mendoza in a few days and then back to Buenos Aires for Spanish school. Then maybe the North of the country before heading to Bolivia and Peru.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb