Greetings from Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 27th 2005
Published: June 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hola de Buenos Aires!

Yes, I am still alive and well, in the Paris of South America. I´ve been here two weeks and have had lots of adventures, even though they´re not quite what I envisioned... But that´s life, huh?

Finally found an apartment, which was more of a struggle than I had imagined in the first place. My aunt and uncle were my life savers, negotiating and helping us find the PERFECT apartment in Palermo, right by the botanical gardens and other beautiful parks, which is where I had originally opted for. I really love it- it is quintessential Buenos Aires chic and authentic, which I think offers more than Recoleta with its Ritziness. But this is just my personal opinion.

Keyboards here are possessed - i´ve resorted to typing with two or three fingers at a time.

I like the city - i think this is a given since I have opted to live here for three months (yes, 3 whole months). But then there are moments when you fall in love with a particular city. This happened to me yesterday in San Telmo, admist the antiques and street tango you´ll find on the cobble stoned streets. It was just like le place du tetre, only much busier, more crowded, somewhat more melancholy, which I think characterizes that area. I have to admit, though, that the glass of house wine from The Balcon (a cafe/tango show) probably had a lot to do with it. But it was all like a dream.

- Virginia

Advertisement



21st July 2005

i'm inspired
I've been trying to work up the guts to move to Bs. As. at some point in the late fall (i'm in Los Angeles). I have family there but i definitely want to get my own place and I was told Palermo is the way to go. I also thought that tutoring English would be the most obvious choice for some income. Any tips for me?

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb