Buenos Tardes


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jamaica MarketsJamaica MarketsJamaica Markets

This is a pic of the markets and the beautiful beach behind at Negril. People get so offended if you don´t look at their stuff, most bizaar, even if you don´t purchase they just want to to look!
Hi everyone,

So, where to begin? Just trying to think where I left off....hmmm. Well last thing was stuck in Jamaica with many lots of overly enthusiastic black men! The most common line I heard was ónce you go black, you never go back´but hey not to sure about that one although there were plenty of foreign women and jamaican men cavorting around the island so I guess most women do take to the Jamaican romance quite well!

I ended up getting rather sick of being approached every 5 mins so me and a guy I met at my hotel decided to hire a car and drive round the east coast. He turned out to be a manic depressant but well under control, but he splurged his whole life story to me while we were having a smoke at Treasure Beach, must admit it freaked me out slightly that he had been institutionalised for the last year, hmmm....but no harm done and we had a good time! So good to get away from the tourist crowd a bit however I wouldn´t recommend going to Jamaica based on my experience unless you´re male (girls they don´t care if you´re with
Jamaica roaring riverJamaica roaring riverJamaica roaring river

This was our first stop after we hired our car in Jamaica....the Jamaican roads are so bad though, full of pot holes! You wouldn´t believe like 1 hour into the trip Daniel drove into a massive pot holea and so from then on I was designated driver....women are better drivers then men i must admit so hey it was the best compromise we could come up with!
a guy) or if you´re travelling with like 4 or 5 people to avoid being ripped off. The good things though were the weather and the climate!

Now I´m in Buenos Aires, it´s pretty damn warm here I must admit but a beautiful city! So I leave to go hiking tomorrow morning and then come back here for some more sight seeing - have met some great people too which has been very nice after having met no one in Jamaica. Cross fingers my group for trekking is good fun, think it´s all girls and one guy, feel a bit sorry for the poor lad. Oh yeah and random, not sure who knows who but ran into Mick, Sam and Luke, friends of Ollie LeRoux at my hostel last night and they´re meeting up with a couple of the girls from Hildas and Dirk and Torns so looks like I might have some company at carnival after all. Cross fingers!

Anyway, hope everyone´s well and enjoying their travels or lapping up the warm weather in Aus.

Hay xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bob Marleys secret poolBob Marleys secret pool
Bob Marleys secret pool

Apparently this mineral pool is where bob marley came up with so many of his songs....they say he used to sit in here for hours and the pool of water has special healing powers!
Sunset Treasure BeachSunset Treasure Beach
Sunset Treasure Beach

This was the little beach we ended up with and the sunset we got to see every night - treasure beach
The bluffThe bluff
The bluff

So I ended up hiring a bike and riding down the east coast for the day to see what I could find. Found a very very secluded beach with only a few kids and their home made kite, this was one of them. Played with them for a couple of hours!
Cooking FoodCooking Food
Cooking Food

Daniel went out and caught some fish and so then we just asked a couple of the locals if we could eat with them if we provided the fish! It was very tasty - this was our cook!
Blue Mountains KingstonBlue Mountains Kingston
Blue Mountains Kingston

We some how navigated our way to Kingston, a miracle I tell you! Anyway we ended staying on the Kingston harbour because it was so much closer to airport and I had to fly out at 5 in the morning but the view from the harbour was brilliant.


17th January 2007

Happy Bday
Hi Hays Hope your well. Doogs tells me your hiking at the moment, and had no idea of your OS phone number, so thought i'd write and say a big happy 23rd bday, for whenever you get near a computer again!!! Not much goss to report on here, just battling away in the stifling heat, and really not loving being here at work- wishing i was treking through SA too!!!!!! Have fun Soph

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb