Shake that Booty


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Claypole
June 23rd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Continuing...

After we got back into Buenos Aires, we were picked up at the airport by Agustin and another friend named Mara. There are two airports that serve Buenos Aires. The larger, international airport is in the suburbs, and the smaller one for domestic flights is located between the neighborhoods of Palermo and Belgrano in the city, right on the river bank. It was a perfect day when we landed. As soon as we exited the airport we were in awe of how clear the water was. We took some photos by the bank, and then proceeded back into the suburbs.

We went to Cecilia's house where she was hanging out with a girl named Romina. We ended up having dinner there and hanging out all evening. Cecilia has a karaoke machine, and we all took turns singing. As they were all in spanish and I was not familiar with any of the melodies, when it was my turn I decided to rap instead of sing the songs. We videotaped it, and it actually sounded pretty good.

The subject turned to dancing, and I asked about the styles here. Apparently, right now the in thing is folkloric style. Cecilia spent about two hours teaching me some of the dances. They were fairly easy to learn.

Anyhow, it just turned into probably the most fun evening I've had since I've been here. Romina told us that on Saturday night there is going to be a folkloric dance show in the city. We decided to go and then afterwards go dancing ourselves. I realized afterwards that I will have my apartment by that time. I'm thinking I will invite them over a few hours early for appetizers and coctails.

This morning, fighting what I hope is not the beginning of a cold, I went and spoke to yet another one of Sebastian's classes, this time at a college. There were only four students. Two appeared to be of traditional college age, and the other two looked more middle aged. These are students getting their degree in tourism. Seba asked me to speak with them about the types of tourism in the US and where they were located. It wound up being interesting, but not as fun as the other school with the kids.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



25th June 2008

hello
Hello Amy, I enjoyed reading your blog about all of your experiences! I also like your pictures! Sounds like you are having a great time. Are you taking Spanish classes? Have fun and be safe! Mark

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb