Living in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BA ViewBA ViewBA View

View from my apartment balcony
I went back to BA, a third time. Got an apartment this time in lovely Palermo Viejo in a high-rise with a doorman. Great little place with a fabulous view. I entertained a couple of times- Mark, Martha, Martin, etc. came over for wine and cheese, and the view...

For two weeks, I went to school to improve my Spanish base further. I learned many new verbs and new tenses of all verbs. It helps. But I still suck. Will have to keep at it stateside. M&M and I wined and dined, sometimes with David, sometimes with Martin, mostly without either, in the fabulous city. We took in the opera "La Boheme" at the historic Teatro Colon. We ate at Sucre, where Bono ate a week or so before. We ate at many of the finer restaurants in BA, where, as you will hear, you can eat and drink royally for maybe $US 25 per person. Unbelievable! We also went to clubs. A lot. That is what you do in BA so... when in Rome... it's all about the nightlife. Dinner at 10, drinks after, then a club at 1 or later... sometimes staying 'till way after daylight. Ok, the
Entertaining BuddiesEntertaining BuddiesEntertaining Buddies

in my BA apartment...
latest I got home was 8. But ask Mark about some of his hours!

I'll miss the flirty Portenios who make eye contact with me on the street. So many handsome men! The women are gorgeous too. I'll miss the cheap cheap meals and cheap cheap drinks and cheap fashionable shopping and cheap haircuts. I'll miss the parks, the tree-lined streets, and the architecture. I'll miss tango, and the accents- oh the accents! I'll miss walking everywhere. Love BA! You will too.

Martha: "My Humps" "Pump it"... and Jack Johnson!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sunrise ViewSunrise View
Sunrise View

Was I up early... or late?
Mark Send-off nightMark Send-off night
Mark Send-off night

At trendy restaurant where the service sucked!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb