I still have both my arms!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Crazy to think its been about a month since I left the great white north! I hear that it has been a great winter so far. That is good, but even though, im still happy to be on a different continent right now! So while I am travelling, I am trying to be open minded and try everything once. Even if it makes me uncomfortable or something i wouldn´t necessarily try at home. A couple days ago, Richard (a fellow student and roomate) somehow convinced me to go play soccer (aka football) with people from the school. He said that lots of girls play, and its just a weekly thing that the students can do if they want. Just kick around a ball a little bit. ok ok, I decide, well I am in Argentina...why not?? hhahaha what a joke! I just confirmed the fact that canadians are better on ice than grass. I show up... there is about 17 guys and one other girl. Just a tip, when you are in a country where kids use a basketball court for football (there isn´t even any hoops anymore), more than likely the people are pretty good at it! Needless to say, that is something I can say I did, but will never do that again! Half the people were from ARgentina and the other half from europe, where football is just as big of a deal.

I did try Tango though!! That was a much better success! It is such an interesting dance and not even close to Salsa in my opinion. Mind you, I have only tried 1 hour of each. The story of tango is that originally the men who settled here outnumbered the women by a huge percentage. So the men would dance with other men. That is why it is such a strong dance and you stand so far apart. Then I think the feminine part is the men would then dance in brothels with the ladies of the night 😉 Hence why it is quite a sensual dance. So thats my history lesson for the day. Regardless, tango is quite unique and knowing the history makes it so much cooler!

Everyone greets and says goodbye with a kiss on the cheek here. That is something I didnt expect when coming to South America. Kind of cool, unless the person has a really sweaty face. hmmmmm fantastic! I get to meet the person, hear their name AND get their sweat on my cheek.
Another common thing is dulche de leche. Its like a caramel sauce that is basically on everything. Yes, i do eat it on my toast every morning. Why not?! In my neighbourhood, there is quite a few burger kings and mcdonalds unfortunately. They even have it on their menu here. I wish that I lived in an area that wasn´t the ritzy touristy area. Its much safer, which in the long run is better for me, but who wants to walk down the street and see a burger king? gross.

Right below the place I live is a little shop that apparently is known city wide for having the best empanadas. Empanadas are like a large pizza pop. Except made with really good bread on the outside and you get to choose what type of fillings. Very good (minus the fact there is always one olive just stuck in there randomly) and cheap.
Yesterday I took the subway to a different part of town. The metro system here is pretty sketchy! Compaired to Chile, it is terrible! Santiago had an amazing metro. Big and fast and not really falling apart. Here it feels like the plaster on the ceiling will crumble at anytime. And obviously no AC. Oh and I hopped on the metro yesterday and just about lost my arm in door. That was quite the rush! And not a good rush, like oooh fun fun! needless to say, my heart rate was up for about 30 minutes after that. Perfect...works off those empanadas and caramel sauce! Im off to Uruguay in a couple hours for the weekend. Cant wait to have another stamp in my passport! Thank you all for your love and support. I know this trip wouldnt be as amazing if I didn´t have your prayers and letters.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb