Nope, I didn just get out of the shower...I stood outside for 2 minutes


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 26th 2010
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, Im onto the second part of my journey!! You think I would stop having expectations of how a city or country will be, because it always turns out to be 100% different. Argentina is so much different than Chile!! In the airport, I went into the bathroom, and it felt like i was surrounded by supermodels. So many pretty girls, and naturally very beautiful. It is refreshing to not be surrounded by fake beauty, like in kelowna for example.
It was also nice to be on a flight and not fall asleep and wake up with a major stress attack! haha on the way to Chile, i think 5 of the 11 hours in the air, i was just telling myself to relax. So, needless to say, I think im getting more confident in my own abilities (i was relaxed the entire flight to Argentina). It may sound silly, but navigating when i hardly understand the language is something I am quite impressed that I can do.

My new host family is so nice! Its an older couple whose children are moved out of the house. Well not a house... its an appartment with no air conditioning and you need 4 keys just to get inside. Its funny how many keys people use on their houses or businesses. I think i saw a shop with 10 locks. How annoying would that be if you needed to get inside in a hurry?
It is just as hot as ever here, but they have a special little extra something...humidity!! I swear, you just walk down the block and your covered in sweat. And it doesnt cool off at night either. Its nice i suppose, i dont need to bring a sweater out at night. The street i walk down everyday is mostly wet because all the buildings have the AC units on the outside that drip condensation. So, the first day, i stepped in the same puddle 3 times and almost fell twice. Ive learned my lesson to avoid that certain area. I think i need new flip flops that dont slide either.
There is a lot of Italian influence here, which I find great! The people are much more expressive, they have way better food, and the fashion (aka shopping) is fantastic! I suppose its a good thing i only have one small backpack or else i would be tempted to go spend money i dont have. Im relatively close to the the ocean, but here its not like you can go swimming. there is a section where they used to dump garbage and old building ruins. It is now like a 10 km section of man made garbage. Thanks to the awesomeness of nature, it has turned into a beautiful ecological reserve. Its full of trees and grass and apparently 35% of all the species of the birds in Argentina live there. Anyway, me and richard (he is a student that is also staying at the house) went and rented bikes and peddled around. These bikes should have been retired about 25 years ago, but they did the trick and i basically avoided running over any small children that were innocently walking on the path.

Last night, I went to la bumba show. Its a band of about 15 guys with drums and shakers. I loved it! so interesting seeing how the beats differ from the show i saw in chile. This was outside and just packed with people. I dont know how big...maybe the size of 3 basketball courts? I love how people just dont care and move to the music! you would not see that in America. Well, there was actually a lot of tourist people there. haha and you could spot them from a mile away. Its actually quite a compliment, because two locals i talked to at the show, originally thought i was from argentina. Most likely, they didnt see my dancing skills 😊

But overall, i think i will really love Argentina. Thank God my teacher is sooooo much better than in Chile! She is really nice, and the family speaks some english, so when i speak in spanish, and dont know a word (very rarely happens), they can help me out! The school is about 3 times bigger here, so its a little more different meeting pèople. But my house mate Richard is really funny and im grateful cause hes been here for a couple weeks and if i have a problem, i just ask. Oh and i dont have to wear pants here! In Chile, its so reserved and no one wears shorts. Thank goodness i can here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb