dinner


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 11th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the Parilla the Parilla the Parilla

This is kitty-corner from my apartment.
There´s a very good Parilla (grill) on the corner next to my apartment (pictures to come). I´ve been there twice already and each time gotten the same meal (when it´s not broke . . .). I got lomo (which is like a big filet mignon) and mashed pumpkin. The meat is so soft you can cut it with a butter knife, and it´s very tasty. I ate it with no sauce or anything. I´m not even a very big fan of steak in general, but the two steaks I´ve had since I´ve been here have been heaven.

Last night I ate with Rashmee, one of the other Rotary scholars, her new Italian roommate, Ariane, and the former distributor of the Onion in Colorado (www.onion.com). The meal was so that I could meet Ariane, and what I was more excited about, the former Onion-guy who is staying in the same homestay as Rashmee (because it´s a really big nice place). Anyway, the guy from the Onion was really nice, but he had actually just sold his distribution rights to the paper, and he wasn´t part of the creative and wonderfully sarcastic writing team that puts it together. So, I was a little dissapointed, but it was still a fun dinner anyway, and I only had to cross the street to walk home.

Today there is a beer festival in the city, so I´m going to go with my friends Martin and Erin, and tomorrow I´m hosting a Rotary Scholar get-to-gether in my apartment. There are about 8 of us in Buenos Aires, most of who I haven´t yet met.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb