classes


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The University I´m studying at, Universidad Torcuato di Tella, specializes in social sciences and is modeled off U.S. liberal arts schools. It´s pretty expensive by Argentine standards (like a U.S. private school is) but with US dollars, it´s relatively cheap. The school is less than 20 years old and only has one PhD program, but lots of masters programs. Most are two years, part-time, but the Masters in Finance is only a year-long, which is why I chose it, since it allows me to leave here with a degree. Plus, I don´t know anything about finance and it´s econ-related. Many of the profressors got their degrees in the U.S., so the teaching style and expectations are similar to U.S. universities.

My classes started on Monday. The masters programs meet at night because most of the students work during the day, so I´ll have class 3-4 nights a week from about 7:30-10pm (which isn´t late here!) and then Saturday morning too. It leaves me my days free, which is nice, so I can sleep in or work, and most people don´t go out until after 10pm here anyway, so it leaves my nights open too.

There are about 140 students in the program, divided into two sections. This trimester is mostly required classes, so the classes are large (70), but I imagine the electives will be a lot smaller. There are 3 required classes this quarter, two next quarter, and only one the final quarter. We have to take 3-4 electives. I´ll know more about my classes and what they´re like after this week.

This isn´t a very exciting entry, but it gives a little background about my program.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb