Fancy Cinemas and Trees


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting in an ultra fancy food court in an ultra fancy movie theater in an ultra fancy neighborhood, Recoleta.

Perhaps you remember me mentioning that in my barrio there are very few trees. I think they took all of the trees alloted to my neighborhood and squeezed them into Recoleta thinking maybe no one would notice....well someone did notice. Not only did she notice that they have a massive amount of trees but she also noticed that the absurdity of the amount of trees was enhanced when someone planted little shrubs around the base of the trees......THAT IS DOUBLING THE TREE COUNT! I will not complain

The sun is beating down on this day, the second day of fall....it is determined to turn me into a scrambled lizzz. Yeah, get this fall comes earlier here than back home, well not fall but spring. If I would have known that I was going to get only two weeks of summer I would have come down south sooner. You know what else they do differently here? Day light savings time...they just dont believe in it. All of you should know how delighted I am to have so
dance dance REVOLUTIONdance dance REVOLUTIONdance dance REVOLUTION

some porteno chicos plays dance dance revolution (in the fancy movie theater) i have never seen women playing this game...only boys...and of course, men
easily done away with it. I feel bad for all of you who will have to

spring forward

.

Oh and another culture shock fact. The movie theater I am going to assigned me a seat! I am in row K seat 20. I will take pictures from the theater.

Later in the day



I am looking at trees in a whole new way. For me trees have always just been there. Something I enjoyed but never really looked at until someone from out of town mentioned them. Now that they are scarce I notice them a lot. The Argentin sky is harsh and the traffic keeps pushing against you. Everything moves fast here unless you are under the shelter of a tree. People slow to a crawl under the filtered, leafy sunlight. People come to these trees to live, sleep, love, play chess, eat ice cream, gossip, read, write, walk their dogs, run and escape. The city breaths here...under these trees.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th March 2006

PeaceSign
Lizzz- Hello Lizzz, you are so far away and yet everything looks vaguely familiar. Like a big city. Well you are in a big city. Looks nothing like Cairo, also a big city. Actually, it's one of the biggest cities! Really, the only traveling I've done: Egypt. I amso far from you. I am living in Seattle, going to graduate school and studying harder than I've ever studied. The quarter ends tomorow. Hopefully I will go to Olympia and get it on, with you-know-who. This is the first blog I've read that actually makes sense, many things people write in blogs are pointless and pitiful and there is no reason why they couldn't have just written a few crappy emails. But you are so far away, this blog makes sense. Alright, well I am off to class. Miss you- xoxo, v
10th March 2006

meow
lizzzzzzzz oooohhhh lizzzy i am glad that you are still in our lives in this capacity! i feel like i get to experience a little bit o argentin life through you! it sounds like you are holding up well....hangin' tough and all! i would like to request a postcard and also remind you that there is alot of love for you here underneath all these big ol' trees!
17th March 2006

Trees
Washington girl discovers trees. Recoleta, I'm always trying to avoid power/phone lines, you use them; great art. Lew E

Tot: 0.404s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.3355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb