Antarctica, 2009 Leadership On The Edge


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am off to Antarctica in under 3 weeks ... the reality is just starting to set in on how amazing this program is going to be. My company AkzoNobel are running a year long Leadership On The Edge program which includes a two week expedition to Antarctica with the Polar explorer Robert Swan.

This is a group of 12 employees all just starting to bond as one team but have only met for 4 days in the Netherlands, but we have one common goal .. to be successful and we are all facing the same challenge of what will Antarctica throw at us. To be as prepared as possible we have been recommended what kit to buy but still I have a couple of things to get but all is in hand I hope! We have been helping each other get organised and sharing information as we find out snipets of info.

The next time I will meet my team mates will be in Buenos Aires but before then I have to say goodbye to my family and friends. It will be very strange having no contact for 2 weeks, no phones, no emails just peace and serenity. Where will my mind wander? All they show me are articles of boats running a ground or sinking in Antarctica .. very helpful!!

Have you been there? Any tips?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb