Buenos Aires.. The City That Never Sleeps


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello

Ok, so Helen wrote on this thing last time so now it is my turn.

We are currently in Buenos Aires, having now been here for the last 10 days. Before our 18 hour bus ride to BA, we were living it up in, what one can only describe as the best hostel ever to be built on South American soil. It had a pool the size of a small lake, the most fantastic BBQ evenings, complete with free caprihinas, sausages, steak, salad and free salsa dancing lessons.

Throughout our time in this hostel in Iguazu Falls, I managed to aquire the following.

1. Loosing my flip flops and vest top after a drunken swim in the pool at 1am. I innocently swam around this pool {after being told the next day}, oblivious to the many couples canoodling around me as I sang to myself and did gentle laps in the moonlight. I was dragged out of the pool by a friend as I think he may have been concerned for my safety.... one becoming pregnant from other peoples indecent behaviour would definately be a tragedy.

2. Being poored down on by torrential rain after Helen and I decided to explore the very small town near our hostel when we first arrived in Iguazu. The sun was beating down on us one second and the next we were in the middle of a vicious, tropical storm. We decided to take cover under a little shop while the local kids played catch with one another in the storm, pushing each other VERY close to the road, which concerned me slightly. Us British would never do such careless things! Haha.

3. Being attacked by swarms of wasps at Iguazu Falls, while trying to eat our lunch. These little buggers came from no where and wanted only one thing... sweet victory. It was not a pleasant few moments of my life and I looked slightly odd jumping around like a manman trying to get them away from me, while other tourists looked on in confusion.

4. Being soaked to our core while walking up close to the waterfalls.. Incredibly refereshing after hours of walking around in the boiling sun though!

5. Beginning our 16 hour journey to Buenos Aires, hungover and looking like shit. I think this was more me than Helen. I remember sitting at the bus stop and looking in my small mirror only to realise my attempt to apply foundation to my face had been similar to a 3 year old applying facepaint. It was more humilating to think that people had probably been desperately trying to keep a straight face while talking to me.

Oh dear.

Once on arrival in BA, we got off and made our way to our new hostel, Fitz Roy in Palermo. The taxi driver dropped us off in a very plush looking area... a large bouvelard of high rise old fashioned buildings, with large palm trees and little boutiques and restaurants lining the street. It was a shame, then, that when we got into our hostel, it was the most dismal looking sh** hole in the world.

Needless to say, a few days of homesickness and misery, including, I have to say, one of the most dismal, quiet and non Christmasy Christmases of all time, we booked ourselves into another Hostel, called Milhouse, far more central and renound for its party type atmosphere.

We have now been in Milhouse for about a week and its been so much better. In the time we have been here, we have had a crazy night out to a club called Crow Bar, which involved a walk back to the hostel at 7am by myself, oh the shame. We have been taking long strolls to the park and enjoying the scenery and lying in the sun. Taking a sunday trip to the most heavenly air conditioned cinema by the port, visiting the zoo in Palmero, taking a walk through an old cemetry which has the body of Evita. We have also been taking the infamous dangerous buses around, where the drivers drive like they never quite passed their test and could do with another 5 tests for good measure.

So, before you start panicking with the amount of alcohol that has been consumed on this trip so far, we have also been enjoying the many cultural aspects of travelling, which is what travelling to new places is about I believe! Tonight is New Years Eve and we are taking a mini bus with others from Milhouse to Pacha for a night of deep electro beats, strope lights and vodka red bulls... Ahem... another cultural experience... Promise!!

For now my friends, that is it.

Happy New Year Everybody!

Much Love

Allie xoxoxoxoxoxoxo



Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb