Don´t Have a Cow Man!


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Argentina on Wednesday, after flying from Cuzco. That was bizzarre in itself - I had to take a flight firstly to Lima, where I had less than an hour to get off the plane, go and pay my international departure tax, queue to go through immigration and get on my next flight. I just managed to make it, having had my bags searched twice. I then realised that my second flight to Buenos Aires was on exactly the same plane that I had just gotten off of., so I´d spent an hour running around the airport, just to get back on the same plane!!!

I spent the first 3 days in BA , staying at a place called Che Hostel, it was a bit out of the way from anything, and also the people there were the most unwelcoming I have come across on my travels so far.
It was a shame really, as that has really been the only downside to BA so far , apart from the visit to the Japanese Gardens, that were shut for renovation I think, when I arrived there!

BA itself is a great place, although not going out to eat before about 10pm does take some getting used to.
I cant quite put my finger on what it is, as on the face of it is just another city!

On my first day here, I went to the main square and there was some sort of protest going on, it looked peacful enough, but I was a bit wary as there were a lot of people with metal and wooden sticks hanging around with their faces covered up by scarves.


The cafe culture, and the food here is superb ( apart from the odd ropey bit of cowhide you occasionally get served that is meant to be beef!) Most of the time the steaks are delicious ,and take up the entire plate. The wine here that I´ve had so far has also been excellent, even the cheapest house wine!!

The subway system here also has what must be the oldest remaining carriages I have ever seen on one of the lines ( see pic) they are completely wooden, and I think the only concession to anything remotely modern is the use of electric lightbulbs instead of gas lamps! - but well worth a trip on ( not during rush hour though!)

I also met up again with a couple of people that I met firstly in Santiago, and then San Pedro, and we spent Saturday catching up - by way of eating and drinking far too much, but it was good fun!!

My next stop is the Iguazu Falls, which I am off to on Sunday ( another one of those 18hr coach journeys)





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th July 2008

Mad Mother and Mad Cow
With 10% bad beef and your mother bursting into songs it's hard to work out which is the madder cow??!! I did warn you to watch your asp in BA - the prptest (new word Trev?? - based on wine infusion??) you saw is typical behaviour there and with a fascist police force ready to clamp down on dissenters it's no wonder they arm themselves!! But it is nonetheless a fascinating city. Becoming an international traveller of renown now - meeting up with people you have seen elsewhere. When are you penning the tour book - "Around my Girth in 80 Ways"?
29th July 2008

Wine, Roses & Cow Hide!
I like the Jacket Trev, but I thought you could have managed a younger pick-up for the night. was she the ropey bit of Cow Hide? Still anything looks good after a few glasses of the local wine I guess, even roses grow on you! Have fun love Mumx
30th July 2008

Argentinian Roses
You are certainly a seasoned traveller now! `Roses grow on you` Trevor. Have a wine on us when you next have a drink. Good on yer! Best wishes Brenda and Eddie

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb