A taste of South America


Advertisement
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Crossing the widest street in the worldCrossing the widest street in the worldCrossing the widest street in the world

9 de Julio in Buenos Aires
Julie - Hello from Argentina and Uruguay! Yes, we did make it here OK last Thursday afternoon and spent two lovely days exploring Buenos Aires...it is a fairly pleasant and quaint old city and we are staying in Retiro which is right next to the city centre...the streets are very narrow and the houses really old. Our hostel is in an old apartment block with one of those lovely old lifts. We have a very large room with a fire place and balcony. Paz, the owner is lovely and has been very sweet, especially considering my predicament...I have been very very very sick for the last 3 days, 2 of which I spent in bed. I finally agreed to go to an emergency clinic last night and have been told that I have a viral stomach infection that may last 4-5 days! It has been very very unpleasant to say the least. Fever, vomiting, diarrhoea, the lot. From something I ate, although I don´t know what...we went a bit crazy the first two days, eating pizza, drinking coffee (with milk which is a no-no for me in South America), eating Peruvian food from a couple of restaurants we found here among
Georgi, Marco and JulieGeorgi, Marco and JulieGeorgi, Marco and Julie

Georgi, Marco´s sister-in-law in Belgrano, Buenos Aires
other things. I only have myself to blame. I have to be extra careful from now on. I tell you, I wouldn´t wish this on my worst enemy!

So as yet we haven´t seen a Tango show but hopefully I will be well enough tomorrow. We are in Uruguay today after we had to postpone it for one day. The ferry took just one hour to get here and it´s a nice old town but it´s hard to be interested in something when you don´t feel well. On Thursday we fly to Lima and then straight onto Cusco so I can´t wait to get some fresh mountain air.

As for Marco, he´s having a great time! He says he feels right at home because everyone speaks his language and he stops to talk to just about everyone. Meanwhile, I just talk to myself! He´s also enjoying the food, pizza being his favourite but also the meat of which they eat a lot here. And the beer is not bad either.

So for all of you waiting to hear from us, now you know why we´ve taken so long to write. I wanted to add some photos now
Finding a Peruvian restaurant in B.AFinding a Peruvian restaurant in B.AFinding a Peruvian restaurant in B.A

A bit naughty I know...see in background Atahualpa, the last Inca King
but I think this computer is too old and doesn´t have the necessary parts. I will do it as soon as I can...hope everything is OK at home with all of you.

Love Julie and Marco


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ceviche Peru National DishCeviche Peru National Dish
Ceviche Peru National Dish

¨Conmigo Restaurant¨B.A
Sick in UruguaySick in Uruguay
Sick in Uruguay

But battling on...


1st April 2008

Get well soon!
Damn, I hope you're all better by now and can get back to that pizza...

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb