Shades


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 27th 2007
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MetaphorMetaphorMetaphor

That one figure against the wonder of the world
Often I find myself here stuck inbetween moments. Times when the hostel buzz has faded to a hum and my imagination can only be found through the dull grey of a pencil lead. It seems contradictory that I think in grey towns and sepia light, thoughts of beautifully tonned blues greens and the colours of dusk. Those moments seem best captured through my hands with the simple shades of one modest but soothing grey.
I find my fingers leading my thoughts through shapes and shaded landscapes. Moulding a thought over which I may later think. Patterns emerge of a lonesome figure silhouetted against an endless sky, A challenging expanse of something hidden within nothing before him, and a sense of hope. Hope found in the questions, answers unknown pull his shoulders back and his eyes to that very mystery I believe that everybody is chasing in life.
Nobody dwells on answers, and therefore our lives are not dictated by what we know, we choose new paths and cast aside the normal way. By steppng aside from the footprints of others and defining the soles of your own feet in life is how we grow, find new places people and meanings, see
Open a littleOpen a littleOpen a little

The old Hostel Clan window in my first room in Buenos Aires
what has never been seen, and go to places never before been.

A continuation of what has been a comfortbale and unchallenging life continues to skip through the same daily tracks of my life and jump back to track one to find me at a 10am breakfast with bare feet and dry sweat down my kneck. The day plays out rather the same everyday with banter and jokes, a drink and a film often sneaks in behind a pasta based meal or a salad and burger.
I have established my place here as a seemingly permenant resident, although I have a departure booked, and others simply stay because they have no plans to go. It has been compared to Hotel California for its inexplicable black-hole like pull, and I often hear murmerings of "Let´s go", but its always the same and the next morning the author of such a remark is still there, in the same seat with the same brand of beer.
I woke up this morning with a sense of adventure because in less then a week I will be somewhere in Ecuador searching for my very own answers to questions I have yet to ask myself
Hostel ClanHostel ClanHostel Clan

A celebration
(but for a few).

Rest assured I am well, happy and fit. I have been going to the gym eating and playing the weekly football match. I put away a hatrick last week to assure our opponents defeat. I´ve seen the movies I thought that I would miss whilst I was away, and spoken english far to much. My spanish waits for my willingness to try, and I know that when I put my mind to it South America will open its arms and embrace my questions.

These photos are of my drawings from throughout my trip, and saccompany my introduction.

Adios Amigos y Mis Familias
Andrew (But they all call me Ashton here ???????)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

September skiesSeptember skies
September skies

Touched by sky scrapers, as seen from The river side reserve
Macora BeachMacora Beach
Macora Beach

Northern coast of Peru, where the sun shines and the bathers bathe every day
Cloud veiled hillsCloud veiled hills
Cloud veiled hills

On the train journey to Machu Picchu
La GuitarraLa Guitarra
La Guitarra

The source of a little night time entertainment. Left forgotten in the day
Following my mindFollowing my mind
Following my mind

Components from a few places I remember
Just sittingJust sitting
Just sitting

On an Erie Bay inspired jetty
ToloTolo
Tolo

by Alex
RipsRips
Rips

by Alex


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb