Back in a Bunk in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

30,000 and me30,000 and me30,000 and me

The stage at a great rock concert in Buenos Aires
Feliz Ano!
(or Happy New Year) to everybody out there.

I would like to tell you a story of the great party that I attended on New Years, and show you pictures of a 'Return of the Jedi' callibre celebration that flooded the world where I am, but the truth is that had I taken photos of my evening it would have consisted of a quiet airport terminal with an out of place kiwi boy wandering between advertised glistenning wet floors, and the last travellers trying to reach their seat for the solotary free champagne in a disposible plastic cup. I just wandered into an inflated cab and sat at 130km/h to take me through to 2007 instead.

With Traceys return to New Zealand another saga began with the arrival of the National Lampoon style visit of Ian & co. We visited Rio and got somewhat of a brazilian burn, and stopped in at Colonia in Uruguay to stroll through a cobble-stone-street, green-leave-shaded postcard picture. After three weeks it came time for the Cassels clan to also depart, and as the shuttle pulled away I was left in the apartment they had rented for two more nights with a
One more nightOne more nightOne more night

I made the most of the excess nights rental in the apartment
somewhat foreign feeling over me. I was finally for the first time in my journey of self discovery alone to myself, and now the journey would begin....

Having been burdened with a 4 bedroom top floor apartment in the shiny-shoed suburb of Retiro I thought that perhaps I should make a visit to my hostel to rally a few locals from here and Ireland to fill the atmosphere lacking apartment for the evening. Left over drinks, snacks and a container of whole-grain-mustard convinced the night to pass and welcomed in the next morning.

Now back at the Hostel-Clan I am having an enjoyable time learning to curse in spanish, and soaking up the Irish attitude that seems to be ever-present here at the corner of Tacuari and Alsina. This week I have found a gym with a basketball court to polish my already impressive arsenal of fundamentals, and push and pull on the various machines. I went to a couple of rock-concerts that planted a seed for a taste for rock in my mind, and just yesterday I travelled an hour out of town for a Sunday BBQ, and lazed by the pool with a scent of Southern
Sunday by the poolSunday by the poolSunday by the pool

Invited along for a Sunday Asado in the Burbs. We lounge around the pool Drinking, Eating, getting wet and being merry
France thick on the breeze.

I'm just going to "have a coke and a smile and shut the %&$% up" for now, and go back to sitting with my foreign friends and fellow adventurers, maybe have a beer and live the Argentine life.

I miss you all, but wouldn´t miss this for all of you (except maybe mum and a life time supply of home-made chocolate ice-cream).

Hasta Luego.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Not a drunkNot a drunk
Not a drunk

But rather good at looking like one after beer number 2
Some of the concert goersSome of the concert goers
Some of the concert goers

...and there I am lurking in the corner
IrritatedIrritated
Irritated

At the start of number 3
Lets EatLets Eat
Lets Eat

I´m hungry


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb