March 30th (we think): Langostina & mountain climbing


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
March 30th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Langostinas 0 secs
24 45.43N
112 15.151W

At Anchor
Wind 6.5 knots at 298 true
Crew: Boys washing dishes, Brooke .. yes, writing.

Comments: Today was our "Sunday": The guys were up early for a surf, which got better and better, so 5 hours later, they return to the boat. After filming the "epic" peeling surf in which the guys had emerald wave after wave to themselves,,, Jonny and I head along the shore to explore the bay and find what we may. Large bottlenose dolphins cruise by us. They had white markings on the tips of their dorsals, which I have decided is a cool new look as apparently they were all sporting it. I chatted with a boat of three local fishermen sporting their classic orange rubber pants. They needed D batteries and I needed lobsters. 4 D batteries, a 3 liter of coca cola, a small bag of sugar and a package of oreo cookies later, we departed ways.. me with 9 lobsters and them... well, probably with diabetes. (but these were the things they were requesting.. I almost threw in some dried apples for their health.. next time I will. I reget that I didn't.
We spent the afternoon hiking along the rugged shoreline admiring the many hues of brown and grey.. even the cactus seemed exhausted with their surroundings. But then an almost impossible site... The wind is funneled and whips down the mountainside. Dust blows across the flat plain at the base of the mountain, battering anything in it's path. In all of this desolation, we found a spirited cactus that looked completely dead, only brittle spines and grey crisp looking branches.. yet it had a bright crimson flower sprouting out of death. I love it. It seems it's struggle for life and painful existance is still worth the fancy dress. I mean why not.. you are down and out.. you are stuggling and battered.. but why not put on that lipstick and frilly dress and say, "TA-DA!" Then all you hear is the wind blowing and dust battering your hardened exoskeleton. I imagine that the 5 humans that peered at that little fella's flower and took a photo, just made his day.
" It was worth it. My beauty was noticed. I shall celebrate by making another flower... when I have the strength... maybe next year."

We made a thigh burning trek up the side of the mountain to the top of the highest peak all the while speaking of Oarks and Hobbits as we felt we were treking to Mount Doom (yes, as in Tolken's Lord of the Rings). Clouds whisked thinly over the mountain top, screaming by us, dampening the cold wind. After our absorption into the rugged beauty of the mountains we return to the comfort of "home" our little oasis floating in the bay. 30 minutes later Jonny and I laugh as we hear our three surfers cheering from waves that impossibly got even better. I thanked the lobsters for giving their lives and created a classic lobster dinner complete with baked potatoes and crusty garlic bread. (and other fixin's).. I am now typing this as I see Brett splayed out on the salon couch looking very much like a crash victim. It has been a good day.

Tomorrow mid-morning we depart for La Paz. Should take us about 48 hours. I am not quite ready for civilization but we have a good weather window... WE GO!


PS: Earlier Colby said "If I didn't know what day it is, I would say that it is a Sunday". I just stared at him for a minute and said.. "Colby... DO you know what day it is?" He just stared back.... yeah.. I didn't think so. (and that feels great.)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb