Journals 1+2--Why there?/Getting There...


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
June 28th 2007
Published: July 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flight route...

JUST ME (no luggage)

#1-WHY THERE???

Why I am Traveling to Where I am Traveling...
This past year has redefined me-but I do not know the new definition.
In many ways I feel disfigured, lost, alone, ambivalent, apathetic and flat. I haven't had the opportunity to regroup and process my changes or decompress and identify what remains the same. I have mustered every last morsel of strength to survive the day-to-day, but it is time to choose beyond survival mode and rejoice in the life that surrounds me....
but I am not quite sure how.

So I am going into lands quite unknown to me; possibly weird, uncomfortable, even scary-perhaps spiritual, humbling, even breath-taking. I am going there to face culture shock-with a jolt that awakens my senses.
I am going there to be awestruck-to lose my breath at the never-before-experienced monuments of beauty and splendor.
I am going there to feel excitement.
I am going there to laugh, to cry, to celebrate and to reflect.
I am going there to pray.
I am going there to face my own comfort-zone; to challenge my challenges and appreciate my victories.
Most importantly, I am going there to reconnect with me--the raw, brave, adventurous me whose sense and senses just need to get far enough away so as to find their way home.

#2-Getting There
The week before landing in Burma is a blur. I ran myself ragged in order to truly free myself from responsibility and self-placed guilt for taking such a long vacation. Sleeping and eating took backseat to paperwork and preparation. The final day before take-off found me wrapping up school-related business. I finally started laundry and packing less than eighteen hours before departure. I am thankful (and apologetic) to the family, friends, and colleagues who helped in this maddening, self-inflicted process. I made it to the airport on the morning of Wednesday, June 27th, to begin my multi-leg journey. I flew standby to get me to Bangkok to save money. I am with my friend and travel partner, Dan.

This journey included:
6/27/07
Leg 1-Los Angeles to Kona, Hawaii (5-6 hour flight)
Leg 2-Kona to Honolulu, Hawaii (1 hour flight) THIS IS WHERE THEY LOST MY LUGGAGE (Good thing I packed all the basic necessities and one casual outfit in my carry-on!)I enjoyed a one night stay in Waikiki.

6/28/07
Leg 3-Honolulu to Japan (8-9 hour flight+Add one day for crossing the international dateline) Thank goodness (and Billy) for business class!
Leg 4-Japan to Bangkok (6 hour flight.business class again!) My luggage is one day behind me!

6/29/07
An overnight stay in Bangkok unites me with Christine (Warner) and I bid farewell to Dan (until after Burma). Still No Luggage.

6/30/07
Leg 5-Noon flight to Yangon, Myanmar (aka Burma.1 hour flight)
Most of the past days were spent sleeping. I am awake now--refreshed even--lacking luggage, but full of excitement to explore Myanmar!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb