Living and Working in Sydney


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
December 1st 2009
Published: December 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't written my blog for ages, that'll be because there isn't really anything exciting to write about now that the travelling has stopped and the working has begun! I'm working full time at the Spa and it's a tough job, they keep making me do treatments I'm not really trained in and no matter what I do it never seems to be good enough for my boss but the money is good. Lisa, Laura and I are sharing a room in a house share in Glebe, we live above a pub which is ace. It's a 30 minute walk to central station so it's close enough to the city but quiet enough to be able to get some peace. We got a tiny table top christmas tree and advent calendars for christmas, but hearing christmas songs in the shopping centers is totally freaking us out, it doesn't feel real when the weather is hot! Well, I say hot but the weather here at the moment is like a rollercoaster, it tends to be wet and miserable whenever me and Lisa have a day off and scorching hot when we're at work! It seems I brought my bad luck with the work/weather balance from home with me! Unfortunately our friends David and Leanna couldn't find jobs and completely ran out of money so had to go back home, it was sad saying goodbye to them. A few other people we know have gone home too so we're proud that we've made it this far. Laura is still job hunting but has a bit of money to hold her over and is determined not to go home so I reckon she'll stay. I've decided to come home in February though as I'll have seen everything I came to Australia to see and I will have worked therefore not wasting my working visa. But I've realised that having to stop and work is such an anti-climax so I want to come home and do some hardcore saving to do a proper round the world trip now that I've had a taste of travelling and caught the travel bug. Being stuck in one place is making me very homesick whereas when I was travelling down the coast I had the time of my life!
I've got Christmas and New Year in the sun to look forward to so that should be a blast, I'll probably do another blog then when I've got more interesting news than 'yeah... went to work and er, came home.. went to a pub in Sydney one night...etc'

xXx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb