Easter Island Tahiti Moorea and the Cook Islands


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

10 /07/09
After a day of checking out accommodation and moving around we are now ready to explore the island and are going on a tour of two thirds of the island, and even though the senery is lovely I get the feeling that the info that the guide is giving us is not all that accurate. However a couple on the group turned out to be the couple who sat behind me on the flight and they had written in their diary that they were sat behind a person who obviously had a problem! Once I had explained that the chair was broken, they modified the entry! At lunch I chose to go to another part of thequarry where the Moai were carved and wasrewarded with some lovely pictures of a less populararea that most tourists don’t go to. I was also rewarded to later on when I saw a birds eye view of the 15 restored Moai..
There was also a girl from the States who said she had a guy staying at her hotel who had been studying the island and its history for 33 years. So that evening we all went out for a meal with Mr Charlie Love who turned out of be quite a character.
He was a professor of anthropology and archaeology and spends of months a year studying the island. He warned on that depending on the guide you can get very varied information on the tour. I also found a divine ice-cream parlour with wonderful homemade ice-cream. Went twice in one day!


12 /07/09

After another relaxing day we rented a scooter for the day and headed round the island to the parts not covered in the tour, advise to buy a guide and rent a scooter, you will see way more and be able to take your time as well without your guide pushing you to finish so he can watch the football.
The scooters were 4 stroke and not designed for offload bat we took them on roads meat for scramblers anyway. After a lovely day we went for some icecream only of realize they were closed. How disappointing.
After saying bye to my new friends Dean and Jem I headed off for my connecting flight to Tahiti and even though we left at 9pm and flew for hours we arrived at 11 pm, This time change thing is really getting interesting with Euan commenting that soon ill be in yesterday time 
Got to airport our pickup had our names wrong and so we had to get alternative transport. Our host Patricia had organised a night in the Meridian which was a pleasant surprise and by far the best accommodation on the trip. Unfortunately just after we arrived Angela received some terrible news of her cousins untimely death.

13/07/09

After a lovely nights sleep and a lovely breakfast we lounged around the pool and the Lagoon until we were picked up by our host. Wonderful!
Was picked up at 5 and told we were invited of some friends of hers that had a bungalow on-the beach and we were going to spend the night. This all sounded great at off we headed at 630 pm.
The evening was long with as having some raw tuna salad and lamb ragu. The evening was great until we went to sleep and found one were sleeping next to Gil who snored worse than anyone I had ever met and so that was the end of any thought of a good nights sleep!!
Beer Blog -Hinano Tahiti-medium larger, slightly sweet, had one on the beach at Le Meridian very enjoyable. Slight malt and hop flavour.

14/07/09

Our host was very sheepish the next day after promising to take as on a tour of the island when she decided to put us on a tour before even checking if the cost was ok. However we did not want to spend the day drinking and staring at the beach so we agreed and did what I hope is my last organised tour. The lady was quite nice who was our guide but halfway through decided that she should stop talking as she felt she was taking too much, she however had no problem chatting to her friends who passed in their cars. It seems there is a epidemic here in south. America with guides not caring about the paying customer. So don’t think I’ll be back!
The tow finished at 2 pm and we went of Pats house and crashed after no sleep the night before.

15/07/09


woke up early to get a lift with Pat as she was very important at work and had a meeting and went for a coffee and then a wonder around town doing some stuff online while we waited lo have bunch with Pats boyfriend who she had been with for 15 years (they were practically married)
Had lunch at a Chinese restaurant and after Pat went back to work the truth was revealed lo us by Daniel Pats boyfriend. She was his mistress and had paid for our might in the Meridian. Her car that she wanted to change to a Range rover because she had so much money was in fact his. She was a cashier and not important. After all the lies and stories we had heard for 3 days it was good to know that we had not been wrong in our suspicions about the change of minded suspicious stories we had been told. With this knowledge we decided lo leave and go to Moorea another island and leave Pat as she clearly did not want to be a host even though she had accepted of host as. This was a bit disappointing as Tahiti is very expensive and the added cost was not expected.
After another night at Pats and being told to be ready of 615 am and eventually leaving at 650 we parted ways with the troubled Pat who at 44 should have outgrown the perpetual lying.


16/02/09

At the boat to Moorea we met a lovely lady who suggested some bungalows that were only marginally more expensive that the camping we booked and so we headed to them to be pleasantly surprised as they are right on the beach and are self catering enabling us to eat some real food for a change!
Arranged a scooter to be delivered tomorrow so we can do a tour of the island which is about the size of Guernsey but far warmer. Went lo bed at 930 pm amid a heavy wind storm.


17/02/09

Scooter arrived at 10 am which was good as the owners had decided that 8 am was a great time to start cutting the lawn outside the bungalow so no long sleep in on the beach. Headed off on the scooter of see what was the best deal to see the traditional Tahitian dancing and to go to the highest view point of the island called belvedere where you can see cooks bay and and oryondo bay, but unfortunate we were too late in the day and the haze was too bad to see anything dearly, however we did find the agricultural college that sells homemade sorbet and ice creams made from the fruit grown on the premises. Divine is all I can use lo describe the staff with at least 15 different types you are sure to find something you will like.
Went to the Beachcomber hotel, the Sheraton and the Sofitel which I thought was the best, biggest and nicest set out. Even saw some kite surfing which looked fabulous.
On the way home stopped at the champion store to see what was available, ended up with a slab of Tuna and some salad staff of utilize the self catering in the bungalow. I was so hungry I thought I could eat all the tuna, how wrong was I even after two pieces and limiting the crisps I still could not finish the 8 pieces but at least they are available for lunch tomorrow. After riding-the scooter all day I was exhausted and was asleep by 9.




18/07/09

It was very windy last night and I woke a few times wondering if the sky was going to fall on my head but sorry to all who were hoping I’m still here!
Went again to the top of the island called Belvedere before 10am to try and get there before the haze but unfortunately it was there again, I felt you would have to be there at 7 or 8 if you were to miss the haze, however I did manage to go back to the ice cream place and get through another 6 scoops, my favourite being the guava.
Went back to my bungalow and ate some more tuna and had a relaxing afternoon but never made it to see the show at the beachcomber as we got chatting to some people and were too late.


19/07/09

Woke up and this time I had not slept much as the wind last right had been so bad I could hear the waves breaking on the beach 2 m from My front door and I wondered if things might get more interesting.
The scooter was still parked next of the bungalow and not sticking out of the sand in the lagoon so that was also good news to know my deposit was safe!

After checking when the boat was sailing I caught the has which was really a converted flatbed truck for the 1 hr ride into town with some of the passengers leaving branches in the road to indicate they wanted lo be picked up.

With Me taking malaria tablets to finish from the Amazon was feeling a little sensitive to the sun and so for the short trip over lo Tahiti I slept in the shade on top deck which was good as it was fairly rough as well. Got a taxi to the hilton where I hoped that I could enjoy a little TLC. Unfortunately I got the feeling that backpackers are not that welcome even if go pay the same money, as the room was a bit. Run down by way of the beds being squeaky, the phone not working and the shower never getting warmer than like warm, no matter the time used!
In Tahiti the food is all shipped in and so very expensive, however the government has subsidised matron wheels style restaurants where you can have anything from veal to Thai food in town and they are known in roulettes so I went for a Chinese meal
Beach in Easter islandBeach in Easter islandBeach in Easter island

coconut trees donated in the 70's by Tahiti
but didn’t realize how much food it would be and had to leave the majority. Internet is also expensive and after purchasing a wifi card for about £58 for this I quickly used some and went back of my hotel and bed for about 11 pm.


21/07/09


left Tahiti for the cook islands today at 820am which was slightly earlier than expected and so after an uneventful 2 and a half hours on an ATR 72 we landed in Cook Islands to see that the pickup lo go to the backpackers was not there, however they are quite organised and had a tourist representative on hand lo call the hostel.

Turn quite looking forward to my hostel next to the beach with a pool and was unpleasantly surprised to find that in my haste to book online I had moved one hostel and booked another, gutted!!
The owners and facilities were lovely though and I could not complain at $23 per night.
Went out in the afternoon and rented a mountain bike of find oat fin-there was any other places around that I might like, cycled 20 km’s , the island only being 32 km all the way around!! Of my entire-trip I had used many different modes of transport with bicycles only for pleasure, however, the first day I hire one lo get around on, it rains and 1 was forced to stop and have a beer.
Bought some crap food, went online at internet café that changes £4 for an hour and went to sleep half expecting there to be a lot of noise as I had met a woman staying at the hostel who said that the people were always partying and the one night the didn’t stay there no one made a noise, irony!


22/07/09

Woke up to kids screaming in the corridor outside my room, seems kids were seen but not heard only when I was a kid! Apparently backpackers were not the only ones staying at the international backpackers, there was also a lovely screaming family of 4.
The wind from the previous night had not abated and after cycling back to a place that was closed the day before only to find out it was hull, I opted for a scooter and this was by far the best idea of the day especially as the rain had returned but the scooter coped most well in the conditions if I do say so myself.
Went to the town and bought some avocado that should be good when its ripe and later found a great bungalow near town but was really interested in finding something near the beach so headed for Rarotonga backpackers who had name bungalows on the beach fortunately the office was shut or else I would not have spoken to the guests and met some really great folk whom I hope to meet up with later on.


23/07/09


Woke up to the pleasant tones of a mother disiplining her children after a night where I found I was too cold. Strange really as I love the cold.
Decided as a last chance to look for A decent bungalow or stay where I was and finally found what I was looking for with internet included in the price this is great as at £9 per hour it start to become a problem to my bank manager.
Booked a traditional braai that had local food so went and got some steak and chicken and beer to enjoy with the other members in the hostel.

Braai started at 630 pm where all the food was explained to as what it was and then we dug in and started to meet the other people staying in the hostel, they were all great and ended up drinking a few beer and going to bed at 1130 pm.

24/07/09

After a fitful nights sleep with dogs barking (‘recall one point all the dogs stopping at the exact same time) was happy that Rudy and Heidi were picking me up of go to my bungalow for the remaining 9 days where hopefully the dogs were less noisy.
After such a good night with the people from the hostel last night it was hard to move to the new acc today without feeling a little loss at the new friends gained but after among and just enjoying a hot shower and knowing that the folk are only just down the road I was happier and set out of get some food to eat for the next few days as if is a holiday this weekend with Gospel day being on Monday where all the churches sing gospel choir groups in town. After buying not much at all I started to realize that New Zealand is going to be expensive! As my wallet was lighter than my grocery bags !
Went into town to get my new scooter only to find that as it was a holiday on Monday there had been a run on scooters and there were none available, bummer! Finally found one at a hotel for less than was first meant to pay so off to town
Beer Blog - Kia Manuia Cook Islands Wichmans Larger- fruity dry flavour with bitter after taste cloudy brown colour., personally not a beer I’d drink twice, rather die of thirst. It was so bad I had lo pour it down the sink (sacrilege!) funnily bottled in a Steinlarger bottle.
Steinlarger -
clear golden larger, crisp clean flavour, slightly sweet taste. Try the pure option without preservatives or additives.
Rarolarger - lovely sweet larger, came in a can but the taste did not seem to be affected by the tin as in is usually the case.Clear golden colour.



25/07/09 - 1/8/09

Was mainly relaxing in the Cooks so instead of saying woke up late went to beach, did nothing, I decided to condense the 12 days spent into one entry.
After getting a scooter life became rather easy as/ could go all over this island in a short time, however, unfortunately being the driver meant I could not partake in many of the lovely beers shipped over from the lovely New Zealand islands. I did however manage to try a few and ill leave my comments soon enough. Also internet is way expensive in the pacific islands so I’m song for not updating my blog sooner.
The majority of my stay in the cook islands was spent rebasing but I did meet some lovely people at the first backpackers I was at called Robbie and James, the latter being a dive instructor and the first a building dive master and it was on Friday the 31st I went for a refresher dive (its been 12 yrs since the last dive) which was fantastic, I don’t know why I took so long, as I loved it.
I also went to a traditional cook island dance show but left my camera at home deliberately all wanted of enjoy the show which was very good. The Easter island dance troop was the best dancing but music wise the cook island drums was much better!
Met a lovely Rear Zealand girl called Jennifer who I met at Rarotonga Backpackers when I was looking at the bungalows there and ended up meeting her family over for her birthday on the Friday night, but I definitely don’t rate the food at the flame tree restaurant, not good at all. However if you want a lovely meal go to the Tamarind House where they have the best Baileys cheesecake.
Left the cook islands on the morning of the 1st of August, at 220 am flew for 4 hrs and landed at 5 am on the 3rd. It took me almost a well of work out how this works that I lost a whole day!
Basically the san rises at new Zealand first then heads west and so rises in the cooks last so that how you lose the day when you cross the time line.



Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 34


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb