Some VERY Exciting Travel News . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean
December 16th 2010
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This afternoon I was at work in my club. The teens were playing video games and I was making some holiday decorations. The youth director onboard came into the club with her ship cell phone, my boss from the Miami office was on the phone for me . . . to give me some exciting news . . .

I have been offered the position to be the Club O2 Director (the job I always do onboard) for the start-up team for Carnival’s brand-new ship, the Carnival Magic. The Magic will begin sailing in May 2011 with set-up happening in April for our department. The ship is currently being built in Italy which is where I’ll be sent to start up the ship. The Magic’s home port will be Barcelona, Spain and will sail to the south of France, Monaco, Croatia and multiple Italian ports including Sicily, Rome and overnights in Venice! The ship will be spending the full summer sailing the Mediterranean and into the fall until it crosses over to North America in November – which means I’ll be working in Europe that entire time!

The news has a bitter-sweet side for me. It means that I will not be able to return to Centauri next summer to teach. It will be the first summer in 17 years that I won’t be there. I had an incredible line-up of programs offered to me that I was really looking forward to. There is no work that I enjoy as much as teaching at camp. The friends I have there are truly like family to me and I will miss them so much.

But this is not an opportunity I can turn down!

Mostly I am in a lot of denial about this new news . . . but I know that eventually it will all be real and incredibly exciting!

So friends and family, start saving cause you are welcome to join me to sail Europe in 2011!!!

Advertisement



6th February 2011

Congrats! :)

Tot: 0.419s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 24; qc: 141; dbt: 0.2231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb