At Long Last the Contract Comes to an End . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean
June 6th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting in the airport waiting to go home. And I can't believe that I am actually off the ship and finished my contract.

But it was nice final cruise. Greg, my replacement director, is awesome and so much fun. So even when I was working, it was a good time. I made myself get off the ship in each port, but the weather was really not cooperating.

In Grand Turk, I went with Ana and Alycia to a bar along the beach that for the most part only crew members go to. We just used the internet and I'd intended on getting some sunshine. But it was cloudly and then as we walked along the beach back towards the ship, the skies opened and we got drenched! So much for a lovely beach day.

Then we were in Half Moon Cay and there was a big group of crew members all planning to get off and have a great day at the beach. Except all morning it rained. By the time we were able to get off the ship, around noon, the rain had cleared but it was still overcast and rather dreary. We debated in the mess forever about whether or not to actually go out. But eventually we did. Most of the crew I was with played beach volleyball and football but all I wanted to do was lie and relax. So I read my book and napped and read some more. Sipped on a daiquiri and swam in the sea (had to get one last swim in!).

Funny story . . . at one point, the ship just seemed to start drifting away from shore. Now, Half Moon Cay is a tender port which means the ship is just anchored out there, so there is always some movement with the ship. But it seemed to just keep moving . . . and moving . . . and moving . . . until it literally appeared to be sailing away from the island. All of the crew were joking that we were happy to be left behind as long as there was food on the island!

Turned out there was some temporary engine issues that made them have to move farther away. But it was resolved and the ship returned and the tenders continued and we had to get back to work. But not before the skies opened up again! This rain was intense. There was no braving it and running through. Ana and I sat under a little shade tent meant for people lying on the beach and we waited for the worst part to pass. And then guests were rather upset. Which I mean, I understand that the weather is unfortunate, but only so many people can be shuttled back and forth at a time. It was such a big comedy of errors and I found the entire thing rather funny - surely a sign that I would be home soon cause I just didn't care!

Then yesterday, final port day and final day on the ship, we were in Nassau. Greg, Alycia and I went to do some internetting and things and then decided to go for drinks. And nowhere makes you feel like more of a tourist than Senor Frogs with their yardstick frozen drinks! In all of my ship contracts, I'd never actually gone drinking at Senor Frogs. So we changed that. Not that I lasted long! I needed to go back to the ship to nap and pack!

Cause of course, every night we were out. Disco on formal night. Jello shooters in the crew bar another night. And then last night we had jello AND gummi shooters (it was go big AND go home!). I have always gone to bed the nights before getting off the ships, even if only for a couple hours. But not last night. It wasn't the plan, but suddenly it was 4am and at 5am I needed to go to the paymaster and I didn't trust myself to sleep an hour and then get up. So the last night at sea was a full night at sea . . .

Today has been one headache after another . . . delayed then postponed then delayed immigration . . . now flight delays . . . but I am at my gate awaiting my plane. It really is time to head home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Drinks at Senor FrogsDrinks at Senor Frogs
Drinks at Senor Frogs

with Alycia & Greg
Disco!Disco!
Disco!

Greg, Me, Alycia & Joel
Some Can-ConSome Can-Con
Some Can-Con

with the Canadian Kids
Things Got A Little CrazyThings Got A Little Crazy
Things Got A Little Crazy

Greg and Alycia were witnesses.


10th July 2009

SKIPBO!
We played skipbo on the ship ALL THE TIME in kid's corner. Oh man. I love that game. Senior Frogs is always a good time too ;)

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb