Thick as Pea Soup


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Celtic Sea
May 7th 2013
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Around 3 am, I was woken up by Ken opening the curtains and then the balcony door. I said what are you doing? He said, "didn't you hear that?" I said "hear what?" He said "the fog horn". I said "no I was sleeping; what can you do about it? Do you think you can help,the captain?" He said he just wanted to make sure everything was ok because he also heard some loud noises above us. He came back to bed. For the next 40 minutes I tried to go back to sleep; the fog horn went off every two minutes and it was loud. I finally got up, turned on the light , took half a sleeping aid and read my book until I got sleepy (the fog horn still sounding). Ken told me to turn out the light and go to bed. I said, "oh no, we are staying up for awhile in case the captain needs help. I was able to fall back asleep and we got up around 8:30. As Ken was leaving to get our lattes, Annie poked her head around the balcony to see if we were awake. So we all went upstairs and had breakfast together. Afterwards Ken and I went back to the room. I had to re-read the last chapter of my book as I was drowsy last night. I'm giving it to Annie to read.

The weather is cloudy, drizzly, about 54 degrees so we went up to the gym and walked on the treadmill. We inquired about possible future cruises and then headed back to our room. We open our balcony door even though it is cold and the sea is rough, but we love the sound of the ocean. We spent most of the afternoon reading. Dinner was at 5:30: Shrimp cocktail, Swiss dried beef with pickles and arugula, Caesar salad, beef vegetable soup with empanadas; we all got the Tilapia, apple strudel with vanilla ice cream for dessert. We skipped lunch again....a good idea!

Afterwards we went to the show: a country singer Bobby Pavillo (female), whom I've never heard of. Oh my, she was horrible. So horrible I felt sorry for her. The comedic magician was on afterwards and he was just ok; not as funny as the other night.

Tomorrow morning we arrive in Dublin. So excited! We saw birds today which means we are close to land

Went back to our room and read. I started a. We book-"Where'd you go Bernadette" by Maria Semple.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb