Walkaround Day- Inbetween


Advertisement
Oceania
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was a bit of an in between day. I had done most of what I wanted to do and see in Sydney, at least given the amount of time I had to catch my flight to Cairns later that night. I really walked around the shopping areas, but was in no mood to shop. I was convinced that everything there was pointless to get because I’d have to put it in my bag and carry it around the rest of oz before I returned- also, I know I’ll be coming back to Sydney for anything I may have missed.

I walked over to the Shangri-la hotel, hoping to eat at their famous 36th floor restaurant, but it was closed, only for dinner. So, I jumped into their café for a nicely decorated, if not overly 90’s modern, display of buffet food and my choice, the chicken ceasar salad- I do what I want!

I took the simple hour flight to the gold coast, regretted not staying longer, but I know that I have some better things to take care of- like diving the great barrier reef!
Arrived in Cairns late at night,11pm, and had a nice German taxi driver, let’s call him Schumi, take me in record time to my hotel.

Though I didn’t do too much, I knew better that I need to save my energy for the days to come. Like a lull before a storm, the silence was apparent but had a deeper meaning than it lead on.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb