My poor bottom


Advertisement
Oceania
April 25th 2006
Published: April 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I decided that Queenstown would deserve at least 2 days for me to spend in it. I checked into a cute little backpackers called Southern Laughter. I then went out of Queenstown to do my bungee jump with A.J. Hackett. A.J. Hackett was the person or company who took the concept of bungee jumping from natives in Vanawatu and translated it into an ultimately safer sport. It was so much easier then my first jump I must say. I didn't have to climb up a construction crane to do it! I just had to walk up a couple stairs and then onto a bridge over a nice, but cold river. I have to admit that I was quite nervous, so nervous that I had to take a gravol for my stomach. The staff are lovely, and they wrap your ankles in a nice towel. This made me nervous also. I thought, what if the towel get loose....you know all the really irrational thoughts come to your mind when they are putting you into your harness and hooking you up. You try and laugh, make small talk with the staff, but deep down inside you think the worst. And it also didn't help that about 3 buses of Asian tourists showed up at the time that I was to jump. All those people with their 3 million cameras snapping away, with no intent of ever jumping. The most hair raising is when you have to shuffle up to the edge. I was told to put my toes over the edge. Then of course I looked down which is the biggest faux pas of all. Never look down....always look to the horizon. Well, guess I looked down too much because I hesitated when they counted me down. Seems unbenounced to me that I was holding on to the bridge. The staff were nice, had me take a couple deeps breaths and let go. They counted me down again and I did what I think was a nice dive off the platform. I didn't scream. It's kinda hard when you're plummeting towards the ground and what seems is lightning speed. I did some hooting and hollering when I was done my bouncing. I was then nicely lowered down to a little raft and unhooked from the bungy. The only real hard part is walking back up from the river. And of course I was on a high from the adrenalin all day. It's a great feeling, it really is!

I then went back into town got some food because I decided not to eat before my bungee. I settled in to a movie at the hostel and was able to meet up with a couple of my roommates and we went out on the town. Queenstown seems to be at least a little happening even on a Monday night. Because it was Anzac day the next day, all bars had to close at midnight. Anzac day is like out rememberance day back home, but only for New Zealand and Austraiilian troops.

I sadly woke up to rain and really wished it would stop. I had booked a horse trek in a lovely place about an hour from Queenstown called Paradise. This horse trek was through several Lord of the Rings film locations. I was looking so forward to finally seeing where they filmed Lothlorien. I can tell you that it was truly magical. I felt like a real horsewoman after doning a oil skin jacket and to complete my transformation, rubber boots. With some trepidation, I got only my lovely horse called Seth. Some of these horses that we rode were used in the movie as horses of Rohan, one was conveniently called Sam. 2 girls in my group were absolutely terrified of the horses. One almost started crying she was so scared. We set off at a slow pace, getting comfortable with the horses. I have to admit that I really perfer riding western style. The saddles are actually there. My bottom attests to the fact that riding english is not my favourite. We rode a lot in the beech forest where Lothorien was filmed because it was a little cold and raining. I have a picture of Seth and I in the forest which I will post later. I have to admit that coming here in the late fall was the best. It was like being in the movie, the sound of birds, the leaves drifting down from trees. We also saw Amon Hen where Boromir was killed. And also the site where they imposed Isengard into the scenery. Sadly the mountains were clouded over due to the rain. It was beautiful, and a really enjoyable experience! We got back into Queenstown at abotu 6 pm. I was a little tired and went back to my hostel to relax, have a nice warm dinner and get to bed at a decent time.

Sadly, today it's raining again, and it's cold!!! There is snow very low in the hills here, and I heard that they issued a weather warning. I'm planning on going back to Wanaka today to take in a movie with MJ, and then head north to the west coast. I'm feeling like the weather down here is closing in on me. I've experienced adrenaline and beauty here in Queenstown so I feel that my time here is done. Queenstown to be honest really isn't that big (not even a gas station in town!). But it is quite charming and there is always something to do. Well, I'm off in my 3 layers of clothes and my weatherproof jacket!

Oh Grrr....I'm hearing that some of the roads to the west coast are closed. Definitely time to flee north!



Advertisement



25th April 2006

weird...
to "flee snow and go north" so opposite from here! ;) I'm SO glad you got to take your trek!! ttys! *hugs*
26th April 2006

We should have nice weather for the wedding
Hi Tara, the pictures are amazing... Can't believe you met an honest to goodness Hobbit LOL. We all miss you and can't wait for more adventures!
26th April 2006

Sorry about the weather
Sorry about the weather you are having.... You know patio season is starting at home. Hint hint. Miss yeah glad your having a good time Hailey

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb