holidays


Advertisement
Oceania
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone
Its my birthday today but I didnt need to tell you that of course haha
Spent the last 2.5 weeks on holidays on the east coast of Oz and it has been awesome, flew to sydney with 2 danish trainees who work around Adelaide and stayed down in Kings Cross for a few nights which was a blast. Got lost when we got off the train but this very helpful prostitute helped us get on the right track, she was very nice haha, after a few days walking around seeing the sights and drinking in the pubs we picked up our campervan and stared our roadtrip, 11 days we had to be in brisbane 1400km away so we had alot of time. First few days stayed about an hour ourside of sydney right by the beach which was good, went to Manley beach and Bondi but was a little chilly for a surf. spent the next few days driving up to Byron Bay where we stayed for 3 nights in a caravan park, soo much fun there walking into town going to the beach and going for a surf then meeting more travellers at the pubs after, was surfing at the same beach that aussie junior pro Heath Joske (i think) was surfing at, so i was catching waves with a pro and they were filming him at the same time!! so im pretty much famous now haha so cool. After Byron drove up to Brisbane and decided 9 days sleeping in a van is fun but could really use a real bed so we spent the last of our days together in a hostel where the cheap bastards only have ac in the rooms from december till febuary and it was 33 degree days and the nights were soo warm.... i was tempted to go out and sleep in the van but I got used to it. While in brisbane I caught up with on of my friends family outside the city, met his parents and his sister for an afternoon and had a tour around thier homes which was nice I wish i could have stayed longer but I had to return the van the next day. the last night in brisbane some more canadians that I met in the hostel went out to a live music pub and had a great time, i was booked to take a bus at 630 the next morning to Melbourne so i had the great idea to drink a heap and then stay up all night and sleep on the bus... plan failed I made it to the bus depot around 4 then slept on the floor till the other passengers woke me up asking if i was on the bus haha.... one of the worst hangovers!! fell asleep on the bus till noon then almost had a spew then had a bit to eat, read and slept most of the remainder of the trip, got into melbourne at 7 am, was on a trin 10 min later to see some family friends about an hour outside the city where I am currently. just gonna relax for the next few days and then take the train back to adelaide monday for work again. been a good holiday but am craving a good days work, kinda wierd thinking that my original plan was going to send me home in about a weeks time and everytime I talk to a friend or family back home I sometimes wish that I didnt change my plans but its only another 3 months of the 12 ive already been away so I think I can handle it just hope people still remember who i am when i get back.

Here is a link for the pictures of the roadtrip... they are pretty tame so mom you should be able to look at all of them haha
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=318874&id=704725703&l=fb9d373b5d

also there was a massive dust storm that rolled through NSW and even up into Brisbane last week then took everyone by surprise flights were cancelled and the lot, theres a link with some pics here
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1215443/Australia-dust-storm-sweeps-eastern-coast.html

anywho better get back to my vacation
Garett Hagg

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007.4kb