Kia Ora from home!


Advertisement
Oceania
February 7th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dan's 23rd birthday Dan's 23rd birthday Dan's 23rd birthday

Here's me with Dan and Emma, Nana and Grandad, after a nice picnic in Cornwall Park on Dan's birthday before we went to the "Gala of the Horse" show.
Hi everyone
This is my first blog written from Mum and Dad’s home in Waiuku, New Zealand, as I prepare for my OE departure on Feb 26th 2006 (actually it’s so I can learn how to get photos from my new digital camera onto the blog). If you don’t want to get this travelblog let me know and I’ll take you off the list.
I’ve shifted out of my house since I’m renting it for the year to Asha, Ben and Alison. Ben will also teach my classes at Waiuku College for the year. Billy the cat has moved to Heather and John’s and settled himself in. Thanks all of you. I’ll be home again early in December for Mum’s 80th. In between there’s an adventure waiting to happen and some world to see!
I’ve had a lovely summer at home with both my kids. However, tomorrow Dan leaves for Queenstown where he’ll work for a few months before travelling to Europe and meeting me mid-year. He came home temporarily from his travels last year for Emma’s 21st which was super. Emma leaves next week to drive to Dunedin to resume studies at Otago Uni for her third year. So once again we’ll be far and wide until next summer. Thank goodness for email!
Best wishes to you all for 2006. I’ll do my best to keep this blog going, hopefully weekly, but I’m not sure how successful that will be when I’m on the road!
Lots of love
Dee




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dan and Jake heading out into the sunset surf.Dan and Jake heading out into the sunset surf.
Dan and Jake heading out into the sunset surf.

The beautiful Sunset Coast on our west coast beach: Kariaotahi Beach.
Emma says goodbye to Billy Emma says goodbye to Billy
Emma says goodbye to Billy

Billy is now happily settled with Heather, John, Ella and Eli. Thanks guys!


7th February 2006

Go well Dee!!
Keep the messages coming Dee, and go well... See you in December
7th February 2006

Keeping in Touch
Hi Dee, Yes please, I would like to be part of this Web connect page and be able to learn of your Travels.Don and I wish you all the best on your Adventure of a lifetime. Nancy
7th February 2006

Fantastic first one!
Thanks Dee and I already miss you. I will have to learn to adjust yet again! I can't wait to see you in St. Pete's. Looking forward to the end of the year and a glass of wine in your garden on the seats on the deck! Take care!
7th February 2006

WOW!
It looks like we may have run out of time to catch up in person before you leave... but please keep me on your blog list - would love to keep seeing where you are and follow your adventures!!!! Love and hugs Jo
7th February 2006

Hi Dee Keep on the list, can't wait to hear about all your travels! Lovely to see you all at Groove in the Park, we were so lucky with the weather too!! xxxx
7th February 2006

Travel Blog
Lovely photos!
7th February 2006

Bon voyage!
When you first mentioned setting up a 'blog' I thought what the hell, and had to get the kids to explain. But wow, way to go Dee. What a great way to keep in touch; am looking forward to hearing about your great travel adventure. I am in awe of you and admire your guts. Take care and travel safely. PS On a much 'cosier' level I have decided to join Erin on her London/UK trip. We leave 15 April for a month. PPS Say hello to Alistair and Mary; they don't look any different than when I saw them last 30+ years ago!Bon Voyage!
8th February 2006

Travels and Blogs
Thanks Dee. Yes, great way to keep in touch (and a great start!). Look forward to the next update. If I don't see you before you leave, have a wonderful trip. Slainte!
10th February 2006

needs more pics
good pics but you need more of em
8th April 2006

Great to find your page Dee. Will be following your travels with interest and envy ha ha Have a great year.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb