Cornacopia of Awesomeness!!!


Advertisement
Oceania
January 17th 2007
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all... How has everyone been?? I have noticed how many people are recieving our blogs, and how many people are actually commenting and sending messages...Im less than impressed....do better!!! NOW!!

I think we left you off in Wellington. Well it was a nice little city as I said I believe. We went to the Te Papa museum, which is the national museum of New Zealand. Now most of you who know us, know that unless a war was being fought, I am not that interested in History. And Jen, well Jen doesnt like me liking wars, and like history even less...Especially the arty type stuff. However, this musuem is probably the coolest museum I have ever been to because it is so interactive and modern. We felt what it was to be in an earthquake, that causes a Volcano to erupt. New Zealand is basically set on 2 different fault lines, and has tonnes of volcanos. Actually, the place we are in now, Franz Joseph, is one of the most dangerous places in the world as far as Earthquakes go..

Anyways, we did that, and we coulda did a virtual bungy jump. I couldnt even work up the courage to do that, however I am mulling over the idea of jumping out of a perfectly good airplane. There was other cool things about the Thailand Tsunami and stuff like that.

Other than that, we didnt do much in Wellington because it was raining the whole time. A trait that would follow us for the next couple days as it were.

From Wellington, we travelled on the ferry across the Cook Strait, the body of water between the North and South islands. Apparantly a couple of weeks before we were there, a couple of rogue swells hit the exact ferry we were on. The swells were like 50ft high or something and bent the boat 50 degrees or something. Noone was hurt or anything though and the boat was fine.

After the 3 hour ferry ride, we got into Picton. Im gonna be honest. Nothing in Picton, but a Port. So we headed off to Nelson. Nelson is a nice little city. Our hostel was rocking.. We had a pool, hottub, beach volleyball, free pool. It was a nice change from some of our prior hostels... Nelson is the gateway to Abel Tasman National Park. It was gorgeous. The place is covered with rainforest, and it backs onto the ocean. Chris and Coll would love this place. Backpacking and hiking is amazing there. Our hike was only 13kms and a day trip. We got some amazing pictures, but it also rained for about 3/4 of the trip. I wasnt impressed, and Jen was not impressed with me for making her do the hike, regardless of weather. *That is so not true, I only complained a little tiny bit on the grueling uphill part. It was beautiful though and had nice beaches and we all know I can't refuse a great beach* Now I have ran a 10km race before, but a 13 km walk is almost as hard I must say.. Whatever, ill be in shape when I get home.

Other than the park, not much goes on in Nelson. So we hung out at the hostel mostly. Actually, Nelson is really small, and the whole towm basically looks like Whyte Ave. Its a pretty cool little place.

From Nelson we left for Greymouth. We got pissed up, and got the hell outta there the next night. Actually, we got to go on a brewery tour, with beer tasting, and 10 minutes alone with the bar taps....Good stuff that Kiwi brew.. Funnily enough, the guide was from Victoria. Figure that one out. Monteiths Original Ale was my fav. To be honest I think she said they send some to Canada so look for it when ya go to the liquor store. Anyways, what can I say.. We got drunk, went to the bar after for free supper and a pint and continued from there. We met a cool girl from France named Lawrence.. Steph Saban will be happy to hear that I have been hanging out with another french girl. *but don't worry steph, i haven't replaced you...not even close....wish u were here*

From Greymouth, we headed to Franz Joseph. Something I should mention, is that the bus doesnt just straight up travel to and from these places. There are little stops along the way for like hikes and stuff. Actually, Greymouth is the first stop we had on the west coast and the Tasman Sea. I gotta be honest, that sea scares the shit outta me. It is pure evil. The rip tide is amazingly strong. People surf on all the beaches, but all the signs say there is no swimming.

Anways, back to the stops. We stopped in Ross, to do some gold panning, because there is literally nothing else in Ross to do. It was blahhh.. Next was a Bushmens shop. The guy in there was hilarious. He used to be a Deer wrangler. At first, the deer ran rampant in NZ, so he was hired to kill them. Then they decided that there was a deer meat market from zee germans yaa, so then he had to capture them. So imagine steer wrestling at a rodeo, and then add a helicopter and a deer (male or female) so sometimes not even any antlers. These guys would actually jump from the chopper and tackle the deer.. Nuts id say. Actually this guy was making fun of hollywood guys stealing Dangerzone from his video to put in Top Gun. He was calling these guys puffers and stuff.. I was laughing but the 2 guys of questionable sexuality didnt appreciate the comedy of it all. I was sitting next to these guys on bus.. One guy was complaining about how hot it was on the bus, and within seconds the other guy grabbed one of those asian fans from his bag and started fanning each other... I threw up in my mouth a little bit. Actually, the big guy sounded just like Darwin when he does his impression. Can definately see this guy being mad about Bosnia when he asked for Paris. The guy also had a rather large trained wild pig. He would sit for treats and everything. I have some pics of him. Quite reminded us of Rolli actually...well ROlli when she's not feeling too well. You'll see why when we get the pictures up.

Anyways so now we are in Franz Joseph. Its kinda like Jasper.. Really touristy, and expensive. The glacier itself, is the fastest moving glacier in the world. Let me paint you a picture. One both sides of are the Southern Alps. In the middle is the glacier, and at the bottom is rainforest. This town gets 4-6METERS of rain a year. Not millimetres.. Bloody metres. But it hasnt really rained while we've been here so we're happy. Yesterday we did a 7km kayak trip across the lake, and today we did a half day hike up the glacier. We got to wear ice talons and everything. Jen did very well on these grueling excursions. Ya'll should be proud as I was. No complaining this time.

Tomorrow we leave for Queenstown. This country is amazingly beautiful, and a big part of me wishs I was staying and working here and getting to know the people and the country as they know it. I hate being a tourist. I make fun of tourists back home. And to be honest, tourists are pretty stupid if you ask me. You got all the bilingual people, who choose what warning signs to read, then when you give em crap, the dont know english. Its very sad and it makes me angry. But I guess im a tourist too, but I dont gotta like it. Maybe it just sets me up for another trip to this country, one that is more extended. Ill keep ya posted. We miss everyone at home, but we dont miss Edmonton one inch. Sorry Moms. This place has already changed me a little bit. GOnna be sad to leave and have to goto the sun kissed paradises of Australia and Fiji. Damn it...Hope the blizzards are not killing your spirits too bad at home...hahahah

Take care everyone

Love,
Jen and Jordan
Next time we do a blog there will be pictures.

Advertisement



17th January 2007

only fair!
Hi Guys, sounds like your having a blast! wish I was there too and yes the blizzard killed my spirit! brat! Its ok not to miss Edmonton as long as you miss Me! anyway all you other blog readers - answer the kid please.. you know how Jord gets!! hee hee PS 80 sleeps till you are HOME! take care be safe~
17th January 2007

Hey guys!!
Hey guys!! It sounds like you are having an awesome time... I have to tell you, I am seriously jealous. Every time I read one of your blogs I get a little depressed for myself, but then I imagine being there and it makes me feel better (at least until I look out my window...) I can't wait to see pictures - the way you describe stuff makes it sound so great, and I'm sure it is. I really hope that you will keep me posted about your excursion and have a lot of fun!! Jenn P.S. Jen - have a drink on the beach for me, okay? Love ya!!
17th January 2007

GOOSE!!
Hey you two, hope everything is good. Glad to see that your having fun and what not. The Oilers are still in the shitter and I am not to happy about this. keep the comments coming.
18th January 2007

Amazing
Well guys...it sounds like you are seeing everything and doing everything that can be done in NZ, even in places where there is not much to do!!! Well, it sounds like you guys are having a blast and I hope that the weather will continue to improve for the rest of your trip. I miss you guys tons and hope you are having a safe and wonderful trip. Justin
18th January 2007

Wow, you guys are way better at keeping everyone updated than I was. I thought it was hilarious that you saw my twin in fiji, or maybe it was me.....I just got back from Toronto. Is that as cool as what you are doing? No. Not even close. Glad you guys are having good time. I miss boozing with you already.
18th January 2007

STOP IT!
Now you guys are just rubbing it in! Studying sucks SO bad right now that I would consider jumping on a plane and leaving this place...again....for NZ and Oz. Ahhhh just dreaming. Have fun dudes!! Trista
18th January 2007

Hey you guys, I have enjoyed your emails and pics but I think I accidently unsubscribed, I didn't mean it!!!!! I clicked when I should have clacked. sounds like you guys are having a blast, I'm jealous. take good care of yourselves,be safe. hope to hear from you soon........... Marcy

Tot: 1.548s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb