A note from Jamie...


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu
May 16th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello to Sher’s loyal readers! I wanted to add a short note to her blog, hoping you’ll appreciate an “outsider’s perspective” on life in Vanuatu. As I write this, I’ve happily digested all my malaria pills, and can hardly believe it’s been more than six weeks since I saw Sher and Justin.

My first impression of Vanuatu was hot, humid, hot, hot, hot. I flew to Port Vila via Sydney from Hobart, Tasmania, where my ship arrived after spending two months in Antarctica. My poor body was acclimated to temperatures below freezing, so Vanuatu’s heat and humidity was an extreme shock to my system.

As Sher mentioned, I’ve traveled extensively, including a summer in rural Mexico. I lived with no plumbing and very limited electricity, teaching English at the local schools. Throughout my week in Vanuatu, I marveled at the similarities between the islands and my own tiny Mexican mountain town.

You’re all aware of Sher and Justin’s primitive lifestyle on Maewo. Rest assured, they are doing very well and have truly made the best of a potentially difficult situation. They are FINE. Their home is bright, cheerful and surprisingly functional. Despite the overwhelming, oppressive heat, I was comfortable, happy and very well fed! Justin impressed me with his home-made curry and Mexican burritos. Sher’s banana bread and peanut butter cookies were equally delicious.

It is obvious the Betarara community accept Sher and Justin as two of their own people. They navigate the complexities of village life like old pros. A source of a great amusement for me was simply following Sher and silently observing all her interactions with the ni-Vanuatu.

Accompanying Sher and Justin on a rare visit off the island (to Santo) was also delightful. My having just come from an isolated ship meant I could share in the wonderment of modern society and enjoy restaurants, ice cream and playing tourist.

I’ve been to 15 countries and 6 continents, yet I feel so blessed to have been able to visit Vanuatu, an incredibly beautiful, fascinating, raw, isolated place. It is truly an untouched treasure. I shudder to think what might happen to the people, the culture and the landscape when the outer islands are invaded by tourism agencies and housing developments.

Needless to say, I was thrilled to see Sher and Justin again. The years just after college are so formative; much has happened and changed since Sher and I lived together in our happy home on Laramie Street in Manhattan. We talked and storied for hours upon hours. I look forward to their return to the states, and am thankful I was able to share in their incredible experience.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb