It's getting near


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Efate » Port Vila
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

In exactly 2 mos I'll be flying down under. I'm feeling completely out of control at the moment. I have my next two years to get ready for. I think I'm driving everyone crazy with my moods and neediness.

Keeping me in good spirits are the couple of volunteers I've been emailing with. They have been there going on 3 yrs and leaving shortly after I arrive. At least I will be greeted by friendly faces. The best news came when one of the volunteer's told me his dog just had pups and apparently he's giving me one! I want to name him Jack after Jack Kerouac. He'll be my little beatnik traveling pup. And I've heard another volunteer's cat is pregnant. Hopefully I will be able to get one, but cats are high in demand. After all they are much sought after rat killers. I will name the cat "Che". Because you say it like Hey! which works well for calling out to the cat. Because it is also used in ref to mate or dude. And I'll need a friend. And lastly b/c it needs to go into combat mode to keep the rats at bay. (Sorry Aunt Pame, I can't live with rats in my food.) The scary part is what will I do with them when I need to leave. 2 yrs is far from a life expectancy and well... the islanders eat both cats and dogs. Yikes. Che should be able to find a new home with a volunteer, due to it's trade. But Jack, I wanna bring Jack home... even thou that will cost 1000 bucks. I hope SF is dog friendly.

I’m also starting to think of things I’d like to get involved with. I hear there is a newsletter I can work on. So I must look into that and I really want to learn about marine conservation. Ya me, fraidycat of the sharks. Apparently I can learn to, and get certified to, dive while I am there.

Anyways keep an eye out here. I promise my blogs to come will be far more interesting. 2 mos and counting!!

Disclaimer: The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Advertisement



22nd July 2006

You are a brave woman. I could not co-exist with a socirty that eats dogs and cats.
22nd July 2006

This was very interesting! I'm going to miss our day to day communication via the net, therefore, I will telepathically send messages to your pup Jack to give you kisses now and again!
29th August 2006

Proud of you
A dog and a cat..cousins for Harry...,so proud ...send pics when you can
22nd September 2006

Good luck !!! Waiting to read about all your experiences

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb