Change in weather


Advertisement
Tonga's flag
Oceania » Tonga » Vava'u
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CHANGE IN WEATHER
The weather has been awful since I arrived in South Pacific - in Tonga wet cold and windy - wet, warm and wind on the trip here. In Wallis Island it is still wet windy and warm very unusually for this time of year. Sunday there were blue skies!!! It is really beautiful and I have to keep pinching myself to realize this is real and not a dream. Brian and I went for a dive Sunday morning; for me to check out my gear and he wanted to check the anchor was secure with all the wind. It was great. Later morning we took the dinghy over and did some snorkel diving near the Island - to see if it would be good for a night dive i.e. good possibility of shells. It was lovely the water is about 84F and the air temp is about 86F with a lovely cool breeze so it doesn’t feel hot. That evening, I did my first night dive. I stuck close to Brain as I was anxious. It was fabulous - we saw a small ray, shrimp and lots of fish. Brian and Carl were mainly looking for shells that would be out feeding in the dark and they found a few. They only take the high grade shells and leave the rest. Monday (public holiday in Wallis Island) we had a similar day as Sunday with a drift Snorkel dive near the outer reef (tremendous current) and a night dive off the back of the boat. Getting loads of exercise -

Today, Wednesday (Tuesday evening in Bermuda) we are in to Mata Utu doing shopping, internet, and lunch with Ann and Françoise. Ann we met in the post office yesterday and she was invaluable. She drove us all around. There is no public transport on the island and no taxi. She was also great at translating and telling us about the island. I am realizing Wallis Island is a strange island - no public transport, no taxi, no fishing boats, shops spread everywhere, really high prices in the grocery store, no garden market nothing set up for tourism. All things one usually finds in island living here is the south Pacific. After today you won’t be hearing from me for about 2 weeks. We are going around to the other side of the island and I don’t know if there is any internet there. About the middle of the July, Brain and I will take the boat to the Solomon Islands 2 week trip. Carl is taking a plane and meeting us there along with his wife and some friends.

Sorry no pictures have to go


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb