Weary Traveler


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 5th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today, the term "weary traveler" comes to mind. The sun has not come out in over a week now and I am starting to realize the effect this has had on my mood. Come on Debbie Downer. I am feeling closed off and not nearly as friendly, patient, or communicative in the grand hostel setting.

When I arrived in Christchurch this afternoon, I finally settled on what seemed to be the only overpriced and distant lodge there seemed to be available for one night. I could feel my body tighten and stiffen under the weight of my backpack, and a sizeable bag in each hand as I made my way from the library. How did I become such a bag lady, I thought to myself.

The city centre of Christchurch was still closed off which made finding my way to the bus depot a bit tricky. Yet, this was a blessing in disguise and there was a gift waiting just around the corner. This is when I met Jane. "Excuse me? Could you tell me how to get to the bus exchange?" "Uh," Jane paused, "I think it is that way, yes follow me, I am just on my way home from work."

Jane asked where I was trying to get to and stammered she would take me to Linwood herself if she had a car. But, in fact, her son had just moved out that morning to his own flat and had taken the car with him. "Why don't you come stay with us for the night? We have a spare room," Jane said enthusiastically. "Really?" I replied in bewilderment. "That is beyond kind of you." That night at dinner (home-made mushroom orzo with fresh lemon and basil drizzled on top) Jane, her husband Martin, and I giggled over the possibility that their son might make a visit for the rest of his things, including his mattress, in which case it might seem as though he had already been replaced in the matter of a couple hours. "Louie, your mother was so desperate and worried of being an empty nester, she picked up the first backpacker she saw on the streets," Martin teased. We shared stories of our similar love for Marahua and Abel Tasman and I carefully listened to life in Christchurch since the earthquake almost a year ago. Fortunately for Jane and Martin, they are both in the architect business, so business has been up for them. We easily could have stayed up all night chatting, but I retired to bed at a reasonable hour to catch my 4:00am shuttle to the airport.

Life is mysterious how sometimes you find exactly what you are looking for in the most unexpected places. I think that everyone we meet along the journey comes into our life for a reason. I do have faith in serendipity and feel blessed to have been lost, to have strayed from my route for one minute, or I would not have met Jane. The odds are good--Martin and Jane's amazing kindness and generous hospitality lifted me back up and restored my energy and purpose for travel. I could not have asked for a better closure to my time in New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb