The West Coast Life


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone
Internet has been difficult to get lately; sorry for the delay in the blogs (I know everyone must be missing them 😊 )

Well we found paradise at Paradiso Backpackers in Nelson. The hostel had a swimming pool, sauna, beach volleyball court and lots of Canadians! We stayed for two nights there went to the beach and relaxed by the pool it was perfect.

Hopped onto the Stray bus with our driver “Bubbles” and we have been travelling with the same bunch of people since Nelson. A really great group people from all over the place and we have been travelling the west coast. First stop was Abel Tasman one of NZ’s national parks. We stayed at the “Barn” in these little cabins and there was a fire every night just outside the kitchen felt like being up north. While we were there we did an all day hike in the national park stopping in beautiful golden sand beaches for breaks from the walk.

Next up was Barrytown, there is barely anything there but it was a really great night. We had a theme party which was wear “anything but clothes” there were some really creative costumes. Jon and I were the official party planners and we taught the whole crew beer pong, flip cup and of coarse doubles.

Off to Franz Joseph Glacier the next day. Stayed at the “Rainforest retreat” here we ran into our Canadian friends from Nelson which was great to see them. We did the trek up the glacier. A full day hike we were outfitted from head to toe in gear and climbed up and down. It was one of the most amazing things I have ever done the glacier was blue and pretty challenging at parts to climb. After the walk we went to the hot pools to relax.

Finally the big news…. They had a rock, paper scissors game at the hostel bar that night. I along with about 40 others joined in on the action. I beat out everyone including a best of 5 final round where I won 3 hands in a row. The bar was all cheering me on and I took home the big prize of the night. However the prize has me terrified. I won a free swing off the biggest cannon in Queenstown New Zealand which we will conveniently be in on Thursday. The swing is a bungee jump with a back swing and you reach speeds up to 150km – prize is worth about 200 bucks. Now most of you are probably thinking how exciting!... however I bet those are the people who haven’t been to Canada’s Wonderland with me. The whole bus is giving me a hard time about it and many have offered to push me off….. I don’t think I have the guts to do it but I am hoping that Jon does.

Jumped on stage for kareokee last night - Jon obviously sang enrique and I had the crowd join in with me on its raining men - classic night!

That’s all for now! sorry no photos this time I am having trouble with the uploaded (I seriously just tried forever)
(Jon is going to make a guest post in a few days)

Colleen


Advertisement



17th February 2011

Seriously Colleen, what we said about living vicariously through your adventures? - well we are having a blast!! Not sure I'm up for the bungee swing though, so it's okay if Jon takes that one. Nice to also see that you are keeping up the family tradition in flipcup - your cousins would be very proud. Looking forward to seeing the pics! Luv ya!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.4kb