Doing things that end with "ING"


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
December 8th 2012
Published: December 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

week 5


In which our ungrateful heroes complain about New Zealand and find ways to thrill themselves



We finally got to that state of bliss in which we do not know the day of the week. Were we in Milford 2 days ago or was it 5 days ago? We were also progressing nicely with our plans, starting the week mid-way through the south Island and this allowed us to just flow. No need to plan what we do or tick-off “must do items” .It allowed us to wake up I the morning and decide f we want to climb something, drive somewhere, ride on something . That’s not to say that we didn’t travel hard. Still waking up very early and going to sleep late and had a very active week.

Some things about New Zealand were not mentioned in the brochures. New Zealand is a prohivitaly expensive place. You can cheaply have fish and chips and meat pies all day long. But if you want to feed the family fresh and healthy food you have to first call up your bank manager and ask to extend the overdraft. A nice Israeli salad will cost: tomatoes ($5/kilo), Cucumber ($2.5/unit), Red pepper ($2.5 for single unit), Lemons ($8/kilo). Or beer, which all around the world costs 1-1.5USD for a local bottle can cost over $5. Most disappointing was the wine. In a wine producing country you would expect to get a drinkable bottle for under 10Euro. But we could not find anything good for under 15Euro in NZ. One visit to a winery in Gibbson Valley I finally understood why the wine is so poor. They are growing vines in a will where the weather is .. well…. not quite best for wine growing. Never hot enough for ripening the grapes and always too windy.

For the first few days we didn’t go into museum’s or take expensive tours but we quickly made a decision that we will spend a few extra Shekels and make the most of the experience.

Thoughts on spending a few extra Shekels



Hagit’s thoughts while climbing on Fox Glacier: “the glacier is too muddy. Why can we walk higher and faster. This is a very special thing I am doing”, I hope Zohar will manage to dring her formula for the first time… (well, she didn’t)

Hagit’s thoughts while Jet boating in a canyon: “Why am I here? Doesn’t our driver see that big rock? Why would he want to almost hit it? How am I sure our driver didn’t do merhawana before he started driving? He looks pretty happy. What if a boat comes in front of us? Didn’t our driver see that stop sign? My jacket smells..I should remember to hold my tongue in so I don’t bite it in the next 360 turn. WOW…THIS IF FUN! “

Yaron’s thoughts while Jet boating in a canyon: “Splash of water. My face is cold. DUCK BELOW THAT ROCK! That was close…hope the driver knows what he is doing. This is the most dangerous thing in Queenstown. I’m totally depended on this driver man not to make a mistake. I should have done bungee instead. NICE VIEWS. I wonder how fast we are going. Nice rapid where we stopped and turned. I wonder how it would be to do it in a raft.

Yarons toughs while skydiving in Wanaka: “hmm..none is pointing to the emergency exit like in outher flights. Nice views going up I wonder if I manage to see anything going down. My guide is breathing heavily should I do so also? OMG! The door is open right next to me at 15,000ft. don’t look down now. WOW! The wind!. Im yelling but cannot hear anything AMAZING feeling! Smile to the camera. Wave my hands in all direction. This is SO FUN!!! That was all? Canopy already open? There is the airport. Kiss the ground. I want to do that AGAIN!!

Hagits thoughts while skydiving in Queenstown: “Am I properly tied to the guide? Ill ask him again… nice views…Am I properly tied to the guide? Ill ask him again…my stomach is turning like before an exam in the university. SHMA ISRAEL! im falling in all directions. I cannot think of what this feels like.Is this how it is to be born. THIS IS SO MUCH FUN!

Liya’s thoughts while caving in a dark cave full of glow worms: “I like going only with IMA on a tour. We are entering the cave. Totally dark I cannot even see my hand in frond to me. they said I’m not even supposed to whisper to IMA if we want to see the glowing worms. Im not scared. This is very beautiful.

Yaron’s thoughts in kayaking around iceberg: “Finally 3 hours without the family. so peaceful and quiet being surrounded by the largest mountains and the bluest of waters. Nice cold water. Relaxing and physical at the same time. I miss my family…




Quote of the week #1



“I will bungee jump if you will bungee jump” – Yaron creating a list of things he will do in Queenstown.

Quote of the week #2



“ABA stop saying that - Mother will not bungee!” – Liya explaining why Yaron will not bungee.

Quote of the week #3



“Bungeeeeeee!” – Ariel jumping from bed to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 95, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.2135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb