Im leavin' on a jet plain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 14th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So these first two entries are probably going to end up be a bit more well written than the majority of them so bare with me, I happened to have some extra time on my hands this first day....

As my jet takes off over the pacific I know that I am embarking on a new and exciting adventure. The first leg of the journey is largely forgettable, two decent meals, a few measly hours of sleep and three movies later I feel the decent into Auckland begin. While dawn has just barely broken the city lights illuminate the series of small island, marshlands, inlets and rolling hills that surround New Zealand’s largest metropolis. As I gather my belongings and head through customs it hits me, I am finally here! While I still have a few hundred kilometers to travel but I have made it to New Zeland!
The short flight from Auckland to Dunedin is much more noteworthy than the later. Dawn breaks over the North Island and Mount Cook, which looks (even I must admit) much more like Mount Doom, rises out of the clouds. As we bare South towards Dunedin the landscape changes drastically more than once. The foothills of Mount Cook give way to an expansive pattern of patchwork fields I imagine those famous New Zealand sheep call home. We then float above the Western bays of Westport and Hokitika what we see next gives me one of the biggest rushes yet. The Fjords of New Zealand, the dramatic, densely forested peaks and valleys that encompass the inland territories of the South Island. As my taxi, my highly expensive taxi, takes me from the rural airport into Dunedin’s city centre I know my adventure is about to begin and my thoughts continually drift back to those dramatic scenes I have just passed over.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb