First day in Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Dunedin
January 14th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I spent my fist afternoon in New Zealand strolling through the expansive Dunedin Botanical Gardens. The first thing that struck me were the things that seemed so similar to home; the vibrant summer rose blossoms, the call of gulls clamoring for scraps of lunch leftover and the smell of lush undergrowth after a warm rain however what I soon realize is the subtle yet substantial differences that set this new place apart from any other I have visited.
As I walk down a solitary path I notice that the sounds of the near by road masked by dozens of exotic bird calls, at first they blended into the ambient noises of the gardens but I soon realized many where calls that I had never heard before. The rhododendron that Washington is famous for grow taller with more vibrant color than any I have seen in my time in the Pacific Northwest. As I sit down to take in the warm sun a gull perches himself on the bench in front of me and I notice that his vibrant yellow eyes and flame colored beak stand in contrast to his northern relatives I know well. Each element of this new landscape become more complex and intriguing before my eyes and I know that I am ready to take in all New Zealand has to offer.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb