finishing new zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

yesssssssssss!!!!!!!!!

I've sold my car!! for 900NZD/450EUR, almost same as i bought it. which is very good, because I won't need to hassle around in august after my skiing holiday. I got lots of luck, it is not easy to sell a car right now here in Christchurch, as everybody is leaving and there is almost no demand, people are selling them for weeks!!! celebration follows tonight, everybody is invited 😊)
but let's start at the beginning. I left the group we were travelling together with on the westcoast and went on my own for mountainbiking around Wanaka. I got a good bike and it was lots of fun racing downhill from the Waiorau Snowfarm skiresort. And there was a mountainbike park in vicinity of Wanaka again, so I was trying not to break my bones and teeth while having fun on jumps over there.
It was last day possible for biking, as we got snow on next day. I headed south to Queenstown, a self-proclaimed capital of adrenaline sports such as bungeejumping, jetboating and other comercial stuff. I didn't do anything of it as I booked the quite expensive skiweek in Craigieburn for august, supposedly the best powder skiing resort in NZ (it is very remote, has no electricity, towlifts are powered by gasoline and accomodation is at common bunks in a hut - sounds exactly what I want). more at www.craigieburn.co.nz
Queenstown itself was a nice town, it reminded me at some resorts in Italian Dolomiti. but it must be too overcrowded with NZ and aussie skiers in winter.
the next thing I did was kayaking at Milford Sound, one of the best things I've done in NZ.!!!! well, the bastards didn't want to rent kayaks, so I had to take a guided tour. I was a bit unhappy with the easy-going tour, but then we have seen some water splashing far away, we headed there and there was the whole group of dolphins having fun with themselves and with us. makes no sense to describe, look at the pics!!! in moments like this I am happy that I am here at low season, haha
from Te Anau, I did a short two day trek to Kepler track, which I got recommended from other guys. first couple of hours is a boring forest walk, but after reaching the bushline there are splendid views of surrounding mountains and lakes. I've slept over in a hut, together with people I've kept meeting all the time along south island, as we the tourists always go same ways.
on my way to Dunedin I gave a ride to the hitchiking couple I already met in the mountains and in Wanaka. In general, I don't like the NZ's cities too much and Dunedin was a pleasant surprise. The cmpact city centre with old houses made of bricks, lively weekend fleamarket and student population. We've met together there with Mike and Dou and after some partying, we headed north towards Christchurch. They decided then to work a couple of days on a local farm, I hope the sheep will survive these couple of days 😊)
a part of my tooth has broken... I did my best to brake them while sporting, but then it broke on the very boring way during eating cereals. the bastard in white wanted 90 Eur for a filling, but I had no choice, hope the reputedly stingy insurance company will not be that stingy when I come back home.
and here I am in Christchurch, I've sold the car too quickly and now I must use my legs again to move around. but only until saturday...
here I come australia!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

en kokien koki
en koki

kea is the only alpine parrot - I just believe what they say :)
pa se.pa se.
pa se.

with envious tourists on the cruiseship :))
a huge waterfalla huge waterfall
a huge waterfall

everything is so huge here in fjord - and you lose a sense of the distance. we estimated one waterfall to be 3 kms from us - but it was nine
Kepler trackKepler track
Kepler track

after coming out of forrest
Kepler trackKepler track
Kepler track

it is a highway rather than a track. it is so wide that two trekkers can easily walk parallel to e.o.


8th June 2008

jure ti prevec uzivas
super super super. ti kar uzivaj. Jaz danes tudi na kajaku, sicer ne med kiti in fjordi....ps. vidim da imas na vsaki sliki isti pulover.he he. bodi kul.
11th June 2008

--
ne, ne, to ni isti pulover. tri enake mam s sabo. isto velja za hlace, haha

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb