New Zealand - Pen's Early Birthday Present


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pen's Early Birthday Present



We are in Queenstown, Adventure Capital of the World. After watching a documentary on it when I was 18, I've always wanted to come Queenstown. I have always said that I wanted to bungy jump, but over the years and with added maturity I've come to think less of the idea.

It was very special for me when Dave came up with the great idea that I do a bungy jump for my birthday! Well being 30, almost 31, the thought terrified me, but then I remembered that its always been something I've wanted to do. Dave also said it'd make me feel younger!

The Kawarua Bridge is the original site of the first bungy jump in 1988, so it was the perfect location for my birthday jump. Though the idea frightened me, once it had been paid for, there was no turning back. The staff were very helpful as they chatted to me constantly while strapping me up to the cord.

The hardest part was actually jumping off the platform. To do a good jump they explained you have to actually jump out in front of you, not down. Well after a
5-4-3-2-1...Bungy!5-4-3-2-1...Bungy!5-4-3-2-1...Bungy!

Waving goodbye!
count down of 5, I jumped.

Wow, it was such an exciting feeling, but really scary. I screamed in excitement all the way down, until my head disappeared under the water. I then became very disoriented as I started bouncing back up towards the bridge and giggled all the way up and down and up and down. I had a real buzz the rest of the day, a weird feeling of euphoria.

Dave said he was holding his breathe as I jumped and his heart was beating real fast.... you can imagine mine!

Thanks Babe that was an awewome gift...I owe you one!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pen's Birthday Bungy JumpPen's Birthday Bungy Jump
Pen's Birthday Bungy Jump

Pen proving that at 31 you're not too old to Bungy!


31st January 2007

Bungy jumping
Wow!! Good for you Pen. I have always wanted to do that and had an opportunity in 1991 on Vancouver Island but husband and daughter wouldn't let me. My sister said she would have paid. Now it is definitely too late. :-)
31st January 2007

you rock
Wow chick, you seriously rock. I dont think I would have been able to do it unless I was pushed. Happy birthday to you. The 30's have been the best so far. Enjoy. love mary-lou
31st January 2007

Well done Pen
Not sure if I would be happy with that kind of birthday present, but well done for doing it...and happy birthday for 7tH Feb by the way!
6th February 2007

happy birthday special friend!
I am so proud of you for bungee jumping... what an inspiration to us all!! Missing you sooo much and just wish we could share a glass of wine with you as you celebrate another year of being you! Lots of love, hugs and loads of thoughts across the miles, Coll and Tim PS- can't wait to see you in April! PPS - just tried to phone you .... hope you get the message xxx
7th February 2007

Never too old!
Hey Pen. Well done on the jump... proves you only get old when you stop playing, not the other way around....All the best for the 31st year!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb