I'm sitting in a bar...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Punakiaki
June 11th 2005
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Abel TasmanAbel TasmanAbel Tasman

The "hostel" lounge/kitchen/bedroom we stayed at in the Abel Tasman National Park...good times actually
Hey there everyone!

I thought I would send a quick update about what I've been up to...

I am sitting in the one and only pub/cafe/hotel and backpackers in the town of Barrytown. Seriously, the place is so small that this is the only commercial property. It's great tho, the locals are all here (it's Sat night), there's a live one man band and everyone is singing along, playing bongo drums (badly I might add) and plastic guitars-it's awesome tho-the locals are a hoot...where in Canada would you see kids playing on the floor in a pub while their parents made fools of themselves and had fun?!

I mentioned that we are in Punakiaki as Barrytown is not even mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide, we are heading to Punakiaki tomorrow to do some hiking out to the lime stone caves, blowholes and pancake rocks, hopefully it will be a nice day.

We have been lucky with the weather. We spent last night in Abel Tasman Park which was quite interesting. The place we stayed was basically a shack but it was fun, I felt as though we were camping. We spent this morning on a four
Split Apple RockSplit Apple RockSplit Apple Rock

The new famous landmark in NZ due to the gov't travel brochure with this picture
hour hike thru the park which was beautiful (When I get to a computer with USB outlet I will add pic's), we had to take a water taxi out to the start of the trek-it was great. The worst part was that the beds we slept on SUCKED! The had NO support and basically I didn't get much sleep...

After Barrytown we are heading to Franz Josef which I am really looking forward to as there is a glacier hike and ice caving day tour that I am planning on doing. After Franz Josef (two nights) we're heading to Queenstown and then Milford Sounds...then off to the North Island where I am planning to do my sledging etc...

Any way, I apologize for not being able to add pictures, I will try soon and I also apologize for not making sense in this email...I am having problems concentrating, we are singing to Elvis right now and people are up dancing so I can't concentrate! I shall be in touch and I will try not to get too excited tonight but if they play some good old country I will have to get excited!

Talk to you all
Abel TasmanAbel TasmanAbel Tasman

View from our hike (Anchor Bay hike).
soon! Take care!

ps...I also have a couple of stories add when i am able to think straight and make sense when i write! Next message~


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb