West Coast Glaciers Part II - Fox


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Fox Glacier
December 1st 2006
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I finally tried West Coast Whitebait on my first night in Fox. Whitebait season has just finished and I had them in an omellette which is how they do them round here. It was quite strange to cut into an omellette and find loads of white worm-like things coming out; very good anyway.

It poured all day on the full day I had in Fox, but I was determined to see the glacier. The shuttle bus wasn't availible when I wanted to go so I set of walking. I had been going about half an hour and was starting to get a little wet but I was able to save the other half an hour's walk by sticking out my thumb and getting a lift with a German couple on holiday up to the glacier car park. It was really raining but I walked along the path to where I'm sure there are amazing views sometimes. It was still great to see the glacier, but all I could concentrate on was not getting my camera wet!

Back at the car park I looked around to see if any friendly looking people were getting into their cars ready to drive off, but I could see no-one fitting that description. I set off on the walk back and was starting to realize, while getting soaked through, that if you only have a cheap rain jacket you will get wet quickly. After cursing at everycar that didn't stop to give me a lift a couple of German girls stopped in their campervan and saved me the last 20 minutes walk back. The afternoon was spent in front of the fire drying off my clothes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb